Faith, Patience, Rest!

Commentary By:  Gordon King

I have a message to share from the Lord, He wants me to share it with you.  This is something vitally important that all of us as believers must not only be aware of but must adhere to on a daily basis.

How many times have you been in a situation where you are faced with a difficulty or hardship in your life?  I suppose that all of us have been at some time or another, and I suppose that most of us do perhaps even on a daily basis!  The question is what do we do about it and how do we react?

I know that for myself I can get quite impatient and try to fix the problems myself.  I often find it difficult to rest and can even become agitated.  I pray to the Lord for help on a daily basis, but then I continue to seek ways to remedy the problems that I am facing.  I continue to cry out to God for help and it seems that sometimes He doesn’t even hear me!

As I was in prayer yesterday the Lord spoke to me, not audibly but never the less He spoke to me.  He told me to be “patient”!  He asked me if I trusted Him and believed in His words?  Of course I do Lord!  I believe you and I trust you, I love you!  “Well then” He said, “you need to trust Me!  Do not worry, do not be afraid for I am the Lord your God.  I do things in my own time, and all things have an appointed time.  I want you to be patient and rest, rest in Me and trust that I will make things work out for your good!”

Unfortunately most of us don’t always hear what the Lord is telling us, myself included.  We tend to be impatient with God and with His promises.  We seek to remedy situations on our own, when we should be relying on God for all things!

What we need to do is rest in the Lord, take shelter under His mighty wings, and know that He is for us, that He will make all things work together for the good of those who love Him, all those called according to His purpose!

The good Lord wanted me to share this with you, to tell you that we must first and foremost trust in Him, that we must be patient, and that we must rest in Him.  Too many times we struggle with the ills in life, we fight and become weary, when we should be allowing God to perform His will and His good pleasure through us!

There are times however when the Lord wants us to do something, to take a step of faith in the right direction.  We must however listen to the Lord and act on His behalf, to follow His lead, and to trust that He will make things work out for our good. 

God has a plan for each and every one of us, that plan includes everything in our daily lives, every encounter, every mishap, every trial and tribulation.  He knows what is around every corner, behind every wall, and everything that lies ahead.  We may not always know why God allows things to happen, we may not know why He is telling us to do certain things, but if we follow His lead then it will all work out!

The bible is not written for our enjoyment, it is written so that we may know who God is, His ways, His principles, and His attributes.  It is written so that we may know how to approach life, how to live a godly life, and how to handle situations in our daily life.  We are to read and study God’s word and write it upon our hearts, to apply it to our life, to live it out just as Christ did!

God speaks to us but are we listening?  Are we following His lead, and are we obedient to what He is telling us to do?

I know that for myself I am still growing in these areas, still struggling with always listening to the Lord and hearing what He is telling me, allowing Him to live through me and not hindering His will for me.

God is real, heaven is real, and the ways of the Lord are true and faithful!  In order to live a godly life we must first humble ourselves before the Lord, take shelter under His mighty wings, listen to Him, then follow His lead.  If not then we are fooling ourselves and being led in the wrong direction!

Take heart my friends, Jesus Christ came so that we may have life and have it more abundantly!  He came so that we may be freed from sin, so that we may live a godly life, so that we may perform His will on earth as it is in heaven!  He broke the chains of sin, defeated the power of death, and holds the keys to both heaven and hell.

Take the time to rest in the Lord, be quiet and listen to His voice, understand what He is telling you, then follow His lead!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

8 comments

  1. Anonymous

    Yes thank you Gordon I recognise my Good Shepherds voice speaking to me through this message it speaks to my heart. I have been a fixer too and this has been a lesson I have revisited many times even though I know from experience He will act for me when I get out of the way and surrender to Him ….Christ must truly increase and I must decrease . There is only one safe haven and that is resting in Him….. just like He rested on that boat in the Storm with the waves crashing around it, there is no fear in Him for He is perfect love.
    Bless you my Brother !
    Christine

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for your comment Christine!

      So many of us do get in the way, we don’t give the Lord time to perform His will, and often times we don’t follow His lead in carrying out His will either. And sometimes we may not believe that the Lord is going to help us in a particular situation, these are the times when we become very impatient. But God tells us to be patient, to trust in Him, and it will all work out, just as you stated about the boat and the storm. Even though the waves may be crashing down all around us, we must not fear, we must place our faith in the Lord and know that He will see us through the storm. Take rest in the Lord, seek refuge in Him and shelter under His mighty wings, for His yoke is easy and His burden is light.

      God bless Sister! Maranatha!

  2. Anonymous

    Gordon I forgot to add I too had a word impressed on my heart and mind this morning and it was.

    Just know that I am with you whatever comes.

    I think we are being reassured!
    God bless
    Christine

  3. thelostcoinblog

    I wholeheartedly agree, Gordon.
    Thank you, for stating that with faith, patience and His rest is within our reach for those who choose to see His goodness and apply it to ourselves. Nothing is easy but it sure is a blessing knowing He’s in control. Let’s continue to look up and be ready for when our Redeemer comes! Maranatha!
    God bless you.

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for your comment SweetJava!

      Ours is not to fear but to take comfort in knowing that God is always with us, that we must have faith, patience, and take rest in Him. Everything has already happened in God’s eyes, but now it is all playing out for us! He knows exactly what is coming, and if we rest in Him then we can rest assured that all will work together for our good!

      God bless! Maranatha!

      • thelostcoinblog

        Right you are, my friend. Love your valid statement, ‘Everything has already happened in God’s eyes, but now it is all playing out for us!’ We’re to endure whatever life brings with His grace in us, His armor on, and ‘finish the race’ until His advent. So we can honestly say (as Paul writes and felt):
        “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” 2Tim. 4:7 Amen.

        None of us our perfect, we’re all a work in progress, we all need Christ in our lives. Sticking with Him through the challenges of this world is our safety net and our assurance that all will work out. The war has been won! Let’s win each battle in our own life and help others in the process. Don’t let life or people get you down but rise above it. As a child of the Most High He will give you the strength. And so we’re back to what you were saying our ‘faith and patience will give us rest’.
        Blessings to you and yours, Gordon.

Leave a Reply

