Grace is something we do!

Commentary By:  Gordon King

God is love, and we as believers in Jesus Christ are to emulate God.  We are to follow His ways and do to others as He does to us, love, forgive, have mercy, compassion, and grace!  We are saved by the grace of God, we love others by the grace that we give to them.

It’s so easy to love someone close to you, people who are nice to you, your friends, your children, your spouse.  These things are not so difficult to do.  However, when we are confronted by people who do not like us, people who hate us, or people who use us or despise us, then most of us find it difficult to love them.

Jesus tells us to love everyone, even our enemies.

Luke 6:27-36

“But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. 29 If someone slaps you on one cheek, turn to them the other also. If someone takes your coat, do not withhold your shirt from them. 30 Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back. 31 Do to others as you would have them do to you.

32 If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them. 33 And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners do that. 34 And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners, expecting to be repaid in full. 35 But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be children of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. 36 Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.”

I don’t know about you, but most of the time I find it very difficult to love someone who hates me, someone who belittles and degrades me, someone who uses me and treats me badly.  Loving them is not the first thing that pops into my mind.  This is something that I work on each day, and I have to remind myself that I must love those who hate me, that I must have mercy upon them, and I must show them the grace that the good Lord has shown me.

As Christians we are to let God shine through us, with His love, mercy, kindness, and grace.  We are to become as Christ, following in His footsteps, performing good deeds just as He did.

God gives us His grace everyday, giving to us things that we do not deserve, and even withholding things that we do deserve for works which are ungodly.  We must find power in God to be able to also give mercy and grace to those who do not deserve it.

The grace of God is something that many of us may take for granted once we are saved.  We may see it as something that only God does for us, but it is also something that we should be doing for others as well!

God made us in His image, and as such we are to be like God in His ways.  Having mercy and grace for other people are things which many of us may not realize when we think of helping others, but it is at the forefront of being a born again child of God!

God has given us His mercy, grace, forgiveness, kindness, and love, it is up to each one of us to do the same to even those who hate us.  Jesus never said that it was easy to love those who hate you, but to love your enemies, pray for those that persecute you, and bless those that curse you.

For me it’s a process that I am working on each day, finding it within myself with God’s help to love my enemies.  It is not something that comes automatically once a person is saved, but something that we must learn through God’s word and the Holy Spirit within us.

Remember that we are saved by the grace of God, a gift given to us although none of us deserve it.  Let us also show grace to even those who hate us, even though they do not deserve it!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

7 comments

  1. Fred Hammersmith

    Yes this is one of the hardest things to do. I had an experience the other day where I was feeling terribly upset over what a certain person had done in my life. I went to bed that night, still feeling upset, so prayed, “Lord I hand _____ over to you. Please deal with them for me.” Then I went to sleep and have felt peace over that ever since. He took it from me.

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for sharing Fred Hammersmith!

      We must seek God first in all matters, and even though we may not think that He hears us or that He will respond, it is not ours to second guess Him. If and when we seek Him, then He will give us peace and comfort.

      God bless! Maranatha!

  2. Kristi Ann

    We are all SAVED BY GRACE through our LORD / KING / MESSIAH / SAVIOUR Jesus-Yeshua Christ who know HIM!!

    Please Pray for our Judeo-Christian Nation United States of America and Israel-Yisrael and our Christian Earth Everyday!! “Pray Without Ceasing.” ( 1 Thessalonians 5:17 KJV )!

    Our ONE True GOD’S LOVE is ETERNAL THROUGH HIS SON Jesus-Yeshua Christ Forevermore!!

    I Love you all Everyone through Jesus-Yeshua Christ, because HE LOVED 💕 EVERYONE FIRST!!

    Love 💕💙 Always and Shalom ( Peace ) Everyone, YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

Leave a Reply

