Is Salvation Ours For Eternity?

Commentary By:  Gordon King

When we repented of our sins and accepted Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior we were made new creations!  We were given a new life, given eternal life, sealed by the Holy Spirit, never to be lost by Christ, for nothing can snatch us out of His mighty hands!

It cannot be both ways, we have either been given a new life forever, or we have not, we have been sealed by the Holy Spirit or not, we can either be snatched out of Christ’s hands or not.  And if we have been made a new creation then how can we change that?  What will God then do with this new creation since it has already been created?  When we abide in Christ then God has promised us eternal life, and God does not break His promises!  If we are truly saved then we abide in Christ and are promised eternal life, let no man deceive you.

1 John 2:24-27

Therefore let that abide in you which you heard from the beginning. If what you heard from the beginning abides in you, you also will abide in the Son and in the Father. 25 And this is the promise that He has promised us—eternal life.

26 These things I have written to you concerning those who try to deceive you. 27 But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need that anyone teach you; but as the same anointing teaches you concerning all things, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will abide in Him.

Hebrews 6:17-20

Thus God, determining to show more abundantly to the heirs of promise the immutability of His counsel, confirmed it by an oath, 18 that by two immutable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we might have strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold of the hope set before us.

19 This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and steadfast, and which enters the Presence behind the veil, 20 where the forerunner has entered for us, even Jesus, having become High Priest forever according to the order of Melchizedek.

John 10:9

I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.

If we accept Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior then we will be saved, not may be saved, not perhaps saved, not saved if, but “will be saved”.  What does it mean to be saved?  It means that we have become a new creation, given a new life, given eternal life (that means forever), it means that we are justified by God, sanctified by God, and glorified by God!  It means that we have been sealed by His Holy Spirit until the day of Jesus Christ, until our redemption and the glorification of our new heavenly bodies.

None of us were saved by anything that we have done, for none of us are worthy to be saved, by the same token, we cannot lose our salvation by anything that we do, for salvation is a gift from God!  If this were not the case then we would always be wondering if what we have done or not done has taken away our salvation.  We would always be wondering if we have gone too far or not far enough.  We would not have security in knowing that we are saved, the peace and comfort that God gives us would be degraded by our worries of our salvation.

How can we ever be good enough to maintain our salvation, for without the Lord our works are as filthy rags to Him.  We must not be so arrogant as to believe that what we do is making us more holy and righteous, it is God alone who does these things for us.  We are justified, sanctified, and glorified by God not by our own doing.  It is God who changes us from the inside, it is God who gives us strength and courage, and it is God draws us to Himself.

Romans 8:33

Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.

And when we are saved we are justified, and those that are justified will be glorified.

Romans 8:28-30

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. 29 For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren. 30 Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified.” 

In the eyes of God we are already glorified, yet that day will not come for us until our redemption is complete.

We can sin and we will, however Jesus Christ is our advocate with the Father, He is the propitiation for our sins.

1 John 2

My little children, these things I write to you, so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. And He Himself is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the whole world.”

There are many who claim to be Christians, however this does not mean that all are Christians.

John 6:53–54

“Then Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in you. Whoever eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.

Matthew 7:21-23

Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

The apostle Peter denied the Lord three times, yet he was still saved, Judas however was not.  What’s the difference?  Peter repented of his sins and accepted Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior, Judas did not.  Judas knew of the Lord, but did not actually know the Lord, this is the difference, he did not give his life over to the Lord.

And so it goes, so many people who claim to be believers have never actually repented of their sins from their heart, they did not give their lives over to Christ and make Him their Lord and Savior!  They have deceived themselves into believing that they are saved, when they really never were.

It is God who has given us a new life, who has made us a new creation, who does a good work in us, not of our own doing.  It is God who justifies us, it is He who sanctifies us (changes us from within to become more righteous and holy), it is He who glorifies us.  If this were not true then we could boast that we did it on our own!

Philippians 1:6

being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ;

I am confident that He who began a good work in me will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ!  God tells me with His word that He will complete it!  God does not lie, nor can He.  So, if you want to believe that you can lose your salvation its your choice, as for me I choose to believe and rest assured that nothing can snatch me out of my Father’s hand, nothing!

John 10:27-30

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. 28 And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. 30 I and My Father are one.”

Jesus Christ has promised to give everyone who is saved eternal life and they shall never perish, nor shall anyone snatch them out of His hand.  I take Jesus at His word.

If Jesus Christ has the power to lay down His own life and to raise it back up, then why wouldn’t He also have the power to keep what is His?  Are we taking away from the Lord’s power and might, do we not see just how magnificent, powerful, and awesome that He is?  If we say that we can lose our salvation then we are not believing in the promises of God, we do not really believe what Jesus Christ told us, nor do we believe in the power of His might!  We have made salvation a “conditional” experience, when in fact it is a “grace” experience!

How can we share the gospel of Jesus Christ with the lost if what is written is not true?  How can we offer a free gift of salvation to the lost if we then have to tell them that they could lose it?  That their salvation will be dependent upon their works?  One of the main reasons that I became a believer was hearing that God loves me unconditionally, and that I would be saved for eternity no matter what I have done.  Isn’t Christianity based upon Gods love, His mercy and grace, not upon our works?  If this is so then salvation is not “works” based, nor is losing our salvation.  On the other hand, all other religions in the world are based upon our works.  This is what drew me to Christ, it is nothing that I have done or will ever do that will get me to heaven, but only by God’s love for me, only by His mercy and grace upon me, only by the blood of Jesus Christ!

If my salvation is dependent upon what I do or don’t do in this life, then I might as well forget about it!  If I cannot get to heaven unless I meet certain requirements then I will never get there.  If this is true, then I have already lost, then I cannot say that I am saved.  This brings me great heartache and grief, thinking that my salvation could be lost by what I do and not by God’s great love for me.  And if my salvation is dependent upon my works, then what hope do I have?  I already know that I am not good enough to get to heaven by my works, so why even try?!

What I do have to look forward to is God’s promises to me, for His forgiveness, mercy, and grace.  God has made us “unconditional” promises, promises which can never be broken!  I believe with all of my heart that once God purchases us then we are His forever!  We are His property and we belong to Him and Him alone!  And nothing in this world or the next can snatch us out of His mighty hands!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

2 comments

  1. Anonymous

    Gordon, I get it, You don’t want anyone telling you that once you are saved then at some point after that you can loose your salvation. I remember the joke about the lady who kept running up to the casket at her husbands funeral and looking in to see if it was the same man as the preacher was preaching about, saying “are you sure you are talking about my husband with all those kind words?” My point is that in the end, the public may be fooled by someone professing to be a believer, but God will never be fooled.

    I could say that God has presented enough biblical evidence to prove that those who are saved cannot be lost, but I won’t say that, However, I will say that God has presented enough evidence in His word to prove that those who have been predestined by God sometime in eternity past to be in heaven with Him will be those who are saved and all others will not. All the same bible verses you use also prove that. In other words we have nothing to do with it in the end evaluation. Either you are in or you are out. God chose you from before the foundation of the world and entered your name in the book of life or not. So anyone who comes to Christ and puts their faith in Jesus for their sins and receives Jesus as Savior and Lord are only those who God has pre-ordained to do so. All others will be lost.

    There is a term called the “unexplainability of God” Everyone wants to have a hand in explaining God, especially His terms of eternal life or “salvation” for the lost human being.
    Also His terms for the retaining of salvation so that salvation will not be lost at some time after attaining it. The biggest mistake mere man has with God is they underestimate Him every time. Do you think for a second that God doesn’t know who is going to be in torment in hell fire for eternity right now at this moment. Let me tell you that God DOES absolutely for sure know all those who will be lost and all those who will be saved. God is only giving His grace to those who will believe and He is withholding HIs grace to those who He knows will not believe. Not one drop of Jesus’ blood was shed for someone who will eventually spend eternity in hell, it that were so then the efficacy of the atonement would have no power. The unexplainability part of it all is the question; “What part does preaching the gospel, evangelism, and prayer have in the salvation process from God.” Don’t worry about trying to figure all this out, You never will like all who have gone before you and I never have.

    Sincerely, Ethin

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for your comment and encouragement Ethin!

      I agree, God has always known who will be saved and who wouldn’t, even before we were created He knew it.

      I know that I will never figure it all out, at least not in this life time, but I must continue on with attempting to discover more of the truth of God and sharing it with others, its just something inside of me that drives me to do it.

      I have to say that it does bother me when another believer condemns me for believing something which is very important about God and our salvation, something which I know is true not only from scripture but also from my own personal experience. The issue of our irrevocable salvation is a very important issue, one which we must not take lightly. If we believe that our salvation can be taken away then we are saying that the death of Jesus on the cross and His resurrection were not as powerful as we first believed, that it was not enough to save us from eternal fire, and that we ourselves must act to maintain our salvation! We are then also saying that God’s plan for our redemption has failed! For if He is not powerful enough to save us from all of our sins then why save us from any of them?

      God bless! Maranatha!

Leave a Reply

