Christians Living in Sin?!

Commentary By:  Gordon King

We all have choices to make each and every day, and these choices will govern the life that we live.  We reap what we sow, and we pay the consequences for all of our actions, whether they be good or bad.

How many followers of  Christ make wrong decisions?  How many of us always walk the straight and narrow path which leads to righteousness?  And how many stray from that path and follow the many paths of the world?

I believe that many believers think that once a person is born again that he or she will be unable to sin, that we will be instantly made like God, and that we will be perfected in an instant.  Then only to find out that this hasn’t been the case, that we all still fall short of the glory of God, that we all can still fall into the traps of the devil!

Let us not forget about the Prodigal Son who walked away and followed the ways of the world.  Eventually he came around to seeing the error of his ways and came back home to his father.  This is a parable about our relationship with God, our Father in heaven!

And isn’t it so and true about us also?  If we walk away from the faith, if we turn from what is righteous and holy, if we decide to follow the ways of the world, are we still not saved?  I believe that we are and shall always be, if we were truly saved then nothing can separate us from the love of God!

Romans 8:35-39

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 As it is written:

“For Your sake we are killed all day long;
We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.”

37 Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. 38 For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, 39 nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Once born again we are sealed until the day of redemption.

Ephesians 4:30 NKJV

And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.”

So even though we are saved for eternity as the bible tells us, we can still grieve God!  We can become prodigal sons and daughters, we can live in sin, but we are still saved.

Not everyone believes this, not all followers of Christ agree with me, yet this is what scripture tells me is the truth. 

Scripture tells us that when we repent and believe in Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior that we will be saved (born again) and given eternal life.  It does not say “and you must never again sin to be born again”.  If this were true then we would have to be born again, and again, and again, over and over and over again!  Scripture never teaches this.

However, there is a price to pay for not following Christ, there are consequences for our actions, both in this world and the next.

We will have to live with the consequences of our actions now in this life, but also in the life here after.  We will all be judged for our good works and our bad.  So what will the eternal consequences be for our bad works?  I’m not exactly sure about that, but I do know that they will be tested in fire, and I know that we will have to sit before the Lord as He reviews our life, this for me is bad enough!

However, we are also judged by our good works, and those that are refined by the fire will be rewarded for eternity!  These good works done in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ will be honored and will be pleasing to God.  This to me is enough to make me want to do what is right in the eyes of God!  As a bonus I will receive eternal rewards, rewards which will make a difference in my eternal life.

I don’t believe that all of us will experience the same eternal life, because not all have done good works for the Lord, and some not as much as others.  I cannot say exactly how it will be different, I just know that it will!  Eternity lasts forever, and so I would like to make it the best that it can be, laying up for myself treasures in heaven.

We can be saved and follow God’s will, but we can also be saved and not follow His will.  Perhaps this is a shocker for most Christians, but it’s the truth!  How many times have you not done the will of God when you knew what He wanted you to do?  I personally cannot count all of the times!  Yet I know that I am still saved, I know that I am a child of the Most High God of the universe!  However, I have paid the consequences for my actions, I have had to live with what I have done, and the good Lord has punished me for it, just as any loving parent would do with their children.  And when your children disobey you, do you banish them from your household, do you disown them for making unwise decisions and for not following your rules?  For most of us no, of course not, they are still our children and we continue to love them and care for them, just as our heavenly Father does with and for us.

Each and every day we have to make choices, decisions which are either godly or ungodly, decisions which follow God’s will or the ways of the world.  It is our choice, and God has given us a free will, just because we are saved does not mean that God has taken away our free will.  And this is how much He loves us, that once we belong to Him we always belong to Him no matter what happens, no matter what choices we make.

There are other consequences of living in sin, such as not being able to hear God, of feeling alone, of not receiving the blessings of God.  When we live in sin then we are effecting our relationship with God, just as we also affect our relationships here on earth.  We become less effective in our role as believers, and we give Christianity a bad name!  When we live as the world lives then they see us as they see themselves, worldly and sinful.  However, when we live as Christ, then we are different from the world, and the world notices the light that shines in the darkness!

We must allow the light of Christ to shine through us in order to make a difference in the world.  We must live as Christ lives in order to perform God’s will.  And if we truly love God, then we will want to please Him and follow His will.  It’s not enough to just say that you are a Christian, it is a daily struggle between the flesh and the spirit.  You must stay connected to God, through prayer, through His word, and through faith.  You must not only read and understand God’s word, you must live it out!  It’s not enough just to know what is right, but to do what is right!

We can study the scriptures all day long, we can know it all by heart, but if we do not apply it to our lives then what good is it?  We can become bible scholars, yet it does no good if left on the shelves.

Do not grieve God, instead do your best to follow His will!  Store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, build up a relationship with God, and know that He will bless you!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

8 comments

  1. Anonymous

    Dear Gordon, I agree we must surrender to our Lord daily and walk the way of the cross dying to our flesh putting on Christ . I know that I have many times fallen and sinned after becoming a Christian and even for a number of years backslidden into the ways of the world doing all the things that I am now ashamed of even though I know I am forgiven because sincerely repented and turned back to Him with a contrite heart and changed my ways. Jesus the Son of God is our great high priest who has gone to heaven to help us; therefore let us never stop trusting Him. This high priest of ours understands our weaknesses, since He had the same temptations we have, though He never once gave way to them and sinned. So let us come boldly to the very throne of God and stay there to receive His mercy and to find grace to help us in our time of need. The One that is all that is good and who please God completely sits next to The Father, pleading for us there in heaven. If we sin there is someone to plead for us His name is Jesus Christ and is sitting in the place of highest honour,since He will live forever , He will always be there to remind God that He has paid for our sins with His blood, who then will condemn us? Will Jesus Christ? No for He is the one who died for us. I believe we will not enter into Judgement like the unsaved for our sins but our works as believers will be judged and those that have been wrought in Him will be rewarded but all that is not of Him done in our own strength, our own works done in the flesh will be as filthy rags and shown to be not be worthy of His reward. I wonder how many crowns I will receive? I will be so happy to have even one and that I will cast at His feet because I know that there is nothing in me worthy of any reward so anything that passes His judgement and still stands is His work done through me and not mine.

    Maranatha!
    Christine

  2. Anonymous

    Hi Gordon, Heavy thick fog moving into churches when it comes to marriage, morality, truth. It’s like everybody is going to heaven without any worries about how you are living. Jesus spoke about the difficult way. The straight and narrow. I’m for one not telling God what He has to do or not to do when it comes to who gets into heaven or not.
    I’m reading most every article, appreciate you. God bless you.
    Maranatha!! Ethin

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for your comment Ethin!

      I agree, it seems as though many believers feel that they can be saved and live however they want, and this is where scripture and Christianity can become confusing. Perhaps I wrote this because I am looking for answers, because I want to know more of the truth, because I see people who profess to be Christians living a sinful lifestyle and I want to know if they are truly believers. I am fishing for other godly opinions about this subject, wishing to dig deeper until I find the answers. What I do know is that I wrote what was on my heart at the time. Satan and his demons are out to deceive and confuse, and I know that I have been under spiritual attack quite a bit this year!

      King David, a man after God’s own heart sinned over and over again, yet God loved him. King Solomon sinned repeatedly, marrying pagan wives, hundreds of them, and then worshiping false gods, and God did punish Solomon, yet I believe that he was saved and that he is also now in heaven.

      1 Chronicles 28:6
      “Now He said to me, ‘It is your son Solomon who shall build My house and My courts; for I have chosen him to be My son, and I will be his Father.”

      So these things among other things lead me to believe that if we are saved we can live in sin. Does this mean that its right? Of course not! Does this mean that we will not be judged for our actions? No! We will be judged for everything that we say and do.

      I know this for certain, God knows the heart of man and this is what counts. If a person is living in sin and professes to be a Christian, is he or she really saved? Only God knows for sure, I cannot say. But I also know that even a Christian can be deceived into believing lies and untruths, and that we all still sin, if we say that we don’t then we are liars.

      The apostle Paul wrote in Romans that he does what he wills not to do, yet he does them, the things of the flesh. However, I truly believe that Paul was born again. I believe that what it really boils down to is our heart, do we really love God and do we really know Him? Only God knows for sure.

      I believe that when we are born again we have been made a new creation, and we will be changed. But I also believe that we can stray away from our faith and still be saved. This is where it becomes difficult to understand, and perhaps I am wrong, but I believe once saved always saved, scripture tells us this over and over, we have been given eternal life by believing in Christ, by repenting of our sins, by accepting Him as our Lord and Savior. Scripture tells us that Jesus died for our sins, and I believe past, present, and future.

      I don’t think that I will ever have all of the answers that I am searching for until the day of my redemption. I do know that if we truly love God then we should obey His commands, that we should live as Christ lives, and that we should do everything possible to avoid sinning. We should strive to be righteous and holy, not grieving the Holy Spirit within us.

      God bless! Maranatha!

  3. annime5

    Reblogged this on Watchman and commented:
    God is calling all to Repentance and Salvation
    DO you know Jesus ??
    Are you saved ??
    Give your life to Jesus now tomorrow may be too late
    God Bless Maranatha Speed The Day…

  4. The Ezekiel Project

    “Our Lord and Master Jesus Christ, when He said Poenitentiam agite, willed that the whole life of believers should be repentance.” -Martin Luther, “95 Theses”

    The key words here are “Poenitentiam agite”, which loosely translates as “do good” or “repent”. In this case, the context clearly shows that “repent” is the translation to use. So, he’s saying that we are to live a life of repentance, according to Scripture.

    Now, why would we need to live a life of repentance if being saved means that we never sin again? It’s rather clear that being saved doesn’t equate to perfection, which runs utterly contrary to how the outside world sees us.

    I’ve lost count of the number of people who have informed me that they’ve tried church, only to walk away because of hypocrisy. They’re under the patently mistaken impression that church is supposed to be a gallery of saints, rather than a hospital for the worst kinds of sinners. That’s how we lose so many, their worldly misconceptions, fueled by Satanic deception.

    I’ve also lost count of the number of people who have pointed to my own glaringly obvious flaws and accused me of being, well, a bad Christian. 😂

    My usual response runs one of two ways: 1. Thank you, 2. Hypocrisy is a universal human trait, so calling me a hypocrite is a lot like calling water wet. Which one I choose to use is determined by the tone of the conversation.

    My point is, we keep running into these misconceptions because there aren’t enough of us out there dispelling them. If more believers, especially those of us who are rough around the edges, were to get out there and show people the Truth of our lives as believers, then we could make a huge impact.

    I repent daily, because I know that I am among the worst kinds of sinners. I’m prideful, stubborn, given easily to anger and irritation and I have an inventively foul mouth. There is much cause for repentance there, and I know it all too well.

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for your comment The Ezekiel Project!

      I know all too well that believers most definitely do sin! It isn’t written that once we are saved we will never sin, on the contrary. Even the apostle Paul speaks about how he does evil things, things that he wills not to do, yet he still does them (Romans 7). Does this mean that we should sin or that it is ok? No, of course not and I am in no way alluding that we should.

      This is where the world’s idea of what a Christian is has been painted as a picture of perfection, when in reality we are sinners saved by the grace of God!

      We all need God’s forgiveness, we all need to come to repentance, yes even believers, especially believers. It isn’t us who are perfect without sin, but Jesus Christ! Yet this is where the world is repelled by Christianity, their false perception of the truth, when they should be looking at Christ, yet instead they are looking at the actions of believers, whether or not they sin or make mistakes.

      God bless!

Leave a Reply

