God given! God’s Will!

caring sharing helping giving  God is love

Commentary By:  Gordon King

Everything that we have in life is given to us by God, Jehovah-Jireh (The Lord will provide).  There is nothing that is not provided by God, all things are God given.

2 Corinthians 5:18

Now all things are of God, who has reconciled us to Himself through Jesus Christ, and has given us the ministry of reconciliation,”

Whether or not we believe it, it is the truth.  God provides all things, there is nothing that is not provided for by Jehovah-Jireh, nothing!  When we are in need we should always seek the Lord first, for He is our provider.

Philippians 4:19

And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

And if God is our provider, then why do we look elsewhere for our needs to be met?  We should seek God first in prayer and then follow His lead.  Sometimes He wants us to take a step of faith, to do something or go somewhere in order for Him to fulfill His will for us.  God is not a static God, He is a God of action, a dynamic God of the universe!  And He wants us to be the same way, to be performing His will on earth, taking action in faith, believing that He will provide, and at times in mysterious ways!

Our God is so much more than we as humans can comprehend, and many of His ways are mysteries to us.  He is supernatural and able to accomplish His will just by thinking it, yet many times He will require from us actions, actions which demonstrate our belief and faith in Him.

For example, a woman, we’ll call her name Wanda, is in need of food for her two small children as her husband left her and she has no job.  She prays to God for provisions, then sits at home and waits for them to arrive.  Wanda waits and waits, days pass by and her children are in pain from hunger.  Yet, just down the street is a church providing food for the hungry just for the asking.  Perhaps Wanda should have done a little research and could have prevented her children from hunger and pain days ago!  As the days continue on Wanda decides to go out and try to find a way to get some help.  She notices a sign in front of the church which reads: “Local Food Bank”, “No one turned down”.  Excitedly, Wanda scurries into the church, children in hand as she explains to the attendant at the food bank her dire situation.  Not only do they provide Wanda and her children with enough food to last a solid month, but they then offer her a job working in the food bank, with daycare provided free of charge!  They also educate Wanda on services provided by the county which will help Wanda out with her situation.

Another example is of a man, we’ll call his name Joe, who lost his job as a newspaper editor from layoffs.  Joe can no longer support his household.  He prays to God for another job, one which will provide as much or more than he was previously making in income.  Joe goes out and applies for as many jobs as he can, with no avail.  Then one day Joe stops to help a woman who is stranded at the side of the road with a flat tire.  He assists the woman in changing her tire and then inquires about what she does for a living.  She responds that she works for the local television station as the station manager.  Joe explains to the woman that he lost his job as a newspaper editor from layoffs and that he is out searching for work.  The woman was so impressed with Joe’s kind attitude and helpfulness that she offers Joe a job at the station, not only a job, but a job with higher pay and better benefits!

Although these are only fictitious scenarios, situations such as these occur everyday.  God does provide, sometimes when we act, but sometimes when we only pray and believe!

I raised two children on my own, a single parent from the time my sons were both in diapers and feeding off of bottles.  When they were very young I really struggled to survive.  It was very difficult because not only did I need food and shelter, but also child care so that I could work.  Times were tough to say the least, and I cannot remember if I was on food stamps, but I must have been, yet there didn’t seem to be enough food, at least not for the holidays such as Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I prayed for the Lord to provide, to give my children a good Thanksgiving and Christmas, as it brought tears to my eyes thinking that they would do without.  I was attending church at the time.  One day just before Thanksgiving there was a knock at my door.  To my amazement and surprise were two people whom I have never met before standing in front of me with large brown paper bags and a laundry basket all filled to the brim with food, including a large turkey!  They dropped it all off without a word except God bless and happy Thanksgiving!

That very same Christmas I was unable to provide any toys or clothing for my children, at least nothing to speak of besides maybe a couple of dollar store toys.  It broke my heart, yet I believed in God and His promises to me, that He would provide.  Just a few days before Christmas there was another knock at my door, and this time they had arms full of wrapped gifts for my children!  I was in awe and humbled by this gift of love and provision from the Lord!  Words cannot really express just how I felt.  Not only did my children receive many nice toys, but also some nice clothing including winter jackets!  One of my sons received a faux leather jacket, and he loved it!  God is so good and I cried tears of joy and happiness, giving Him all of the glory, thanks, and praise!

God is good, and God provides!  We must believe that all things come from God and have faith that He will provide.  He often uses other people to perform His will, to help those in need, and to provide for them, this is one way God works.  Let us all help those in need, whether it be with money, with food, with clothing, or with shelter.  Let us help them with love and encouragement, with comfort and peace, with our time and our patience.  Doing the will of the Lord is doing these things, it is doing what you were destined to do with a loving heart and a kind spirit.

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

4 comments

  1. annime5

    Reblogged this on Watchman and commented:
    God is a God of miracles yesterday today and tomorrow..
    Trust in the Lord for your provisions…
    God is calling all to Repentance and Salvation
    DO you know Jesus ??
    Are you saved ??
    Give your life to Jesus now tomorrow may be too late
    God Bless Maranatha Speed The Day…

  2. Anonymous

    I agree Gordon, God is our provider in diverse ways . I was so touched to read of your experiences here and can confirm that He has never let me down either! I have even had jobs that I had no idea how I was going to complete the work required but day by day He led me and put all the opportunities in my path and by the end of my target date the work had been completed to an exacting standard and I know without Him I could never have done it. Many people at that time thought I would fail in that task and the wolves were gathering but we are more than conquerors in Him and we can truly do all things in Him who strengthens us. We grow in faith each time we totally are depending on Him to provide and show us a way out of our dilemma We can look back on these times when we are tempted to doubt in other trials and renew our faith and declare God is our provider an ever present help in times of trouble! To bring the answer to someone else’s prayers we must be open to Gods leading and what He lays on our hearts to do. Thank God for those faithful servants that turned up on your door!

    Maranatha!
    Christine

    • Gordon King

      Thank you Christine!

      God is so good, and many of His ways are mysteries to us. However, when we obey Him and follow His lead then many good things will come of it, all according to His will and not our own. Amen.

      I totally understand what you have experienced in your story of completing the work that you were not sure you could, yet the Lord provided when you needed it, and of the wolves gathering to tear you to pieces. I once started my own business, without hardly any funds, without any real business experience, I just felt led to do it, for myself and for my children. As it goes, it turned out to be very successful, right from the get go, very busy and very lucrative. However, that is not to say that I didn’t have the wolves also try to tear me down, I most certainly did! And the naysayers abounded, telling my that I couldn’t do it, that I would fail, but the good Lord was at my side the whole way!

      God is good, and He makes all things work together for the good of those that love Him, all who are called according to His purpose! Amen.

      God bless! Maranatha!

Leave a Reply

