God’s Priority for Us!

In God we trust copy

Commentary By:  Gordon King

Is God the same today as He was two thousand years ago?  And if He is then what does He want from us?

Of course the good Lord Jesus is the same today as He was two thousand years ago, as He was from the foundation of the earth, as He has been for eternity and always will be!  He never changes, we change.

The Lord God has given me insight and further understanding of just what it is that He wants from us.  I have seen miracle after miracle, prayer after prayer answered, and I owe it all to Elohim, God Almighty!

God’s first and foremost desire is for us to trust in Him.  To seek Him first in all things, and to believe that He will reward us and provide for us.  These are the most important things which God wants from us, not doing good works, not performing religious acts or deeds, but knowing Him and trusting in His promises to us.

Without faith it is impossible to please God, and I will add that without believing that God will reward us is a lack of faith.

Hebrews 11:6

But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

It would seem to most believers that we should not expect God to reward us, or that we should not seek God to get promises fulfilled, yet this is what God wants us to do!

God rewards those who diligently seek Him.  With faith we believe that God exists, and by that faith we seek His promises and rewards.  There is nothing wrong with that, in fact there is everything right with it!

Hebrews 11:11

By faith Sarah herself also received strength to conceive seed, and she bore a child when she was past the age, because she judged Him faithful who had promised.

God is our provider, it is through Him and by Him that we have and receive all things.  It is by His mercy, grace, love, and kindness that we are blessed and that God answers our prayers.

I cannot say that God will answer all of our prayers, but I can say that if we do not ask then we will not receive, and if we do not believe then likewise we will not receive!

Our faith depends upon our belief, and our belief depends upon how we view God and His word.  If we take God’s word literally, then our faith is empowered by it.  And if our faith in God is fully dependent upon what He says that He will do for us, then we will see God at work in our lives.  We must believe and have faith!

If we pray then turn around and say that it probably won’t happen, then guess what?  It probably won’t!  However, if after we pray we then thank God for what He has done for us and thank Him for what He will do for us, then chances are He will hear and answer our prayers!

We must give God thanks in all things, even the bad things.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

I cannot really tell you all of the reasons why we should give thanks in all things, especially the bad things.  But, I do know that God is in control of all things, and He will make all things work together for the good of those that love Him, all who are called according to His purpose!  Even in the bad things God is in control, and He will make good come from it.  It is during these times when the good Lord shall bring us through the storm and bring us closer to Him, thus giving us a better understanding of who He really is.

I have been deep down in the valley of the shadow of death, and I am still there.  It is dark and gloomy, yet I have the good Lord at my side.  He lights my path and guides me, He comforts me and gives me understanding.  And through it all I can say that He has brought me closer to Him than ever before!  Without the Lord with me I could have never made it this far, without the Lord I would see no light and no end.  But with God I can see the light, I can see an end, and I have hope!

The Lord fills my soul with light, He empowers me to continue on, and in the darkness He walks with me as my shield and my protector.  He has given me a sense of direction, a path leading out of the valley.  And with each passing day He lifts my spirit to new heights and brings me closer to His ever-loving Spirit.  He has shown me courage and strength, He has shown me who He is and given me a better understanding of His ways.

I cannot say that I fully understand why we should give thanks in all things, but I can say that it builds our character and molds us into the likeness of Christ!  I believe that it is part of His sanctification process, making us more like His Son who endured all things for us.

God is a Spirit who created us for the purpose of loving us and us loving Him back.  He takes great pleasure in rewarding and blessing us.  He only wants for us to acknowledge Him, trust Him, and love Him.  If we do these things then we will be blessed! 

Do not be afraid to ask God for things, He wants you to, according to His will.  Do not be afraid to expect rewards and blessings, He takes pleasure in it.  For by seeking God and the things of heaven above we are performing God’s will, for those seeking God will be rewarded!

Trust in the Lord with all of your heart, believe in His promises, have faith that He will do what He says.  Know that He is God, the only God of the universe.  Amen.

When we accepted Christ as our Lord and Savior, we believed and had faith that what He said was true, then why wouldn’t we now also believe in His promises?!

What is the greatest thing God wants from us?  To trust in Him and Him alone, and in order to do this we must love Him with all of our heart!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

4 comments

  1. christine

    Thank you Gordon! I am just entering a new phase of my Life – retirement and I am expectant that there will be many new lessons to learn as the old gives way to the new and giving thanks when things seem uncertain is one practice I will be adopting it is so easy to forget to do this if we rely on feelings instead of faith and trust.

    Christine

Leave a Reply

