God Love’s Us, Whatever We Do or Don’t Do!

God Loves You

Commentary By:  Gordon King

Have you ever felt that if you do something wrong that God won’t love you any more?  That the basis for God’s love for you depends upon what you either do or don’t do?  Well my friends nothing could be further from the truth!  God’s love for us is immeasurable, it is all-encompassing, unconditional, and never-ending!

Christianity is not a religion, not a set of principles which must be accomplished in order to reach an ideal or to appease God so that He will accept us.  No!  We don’t earn God’s love, He gives it to us unconditionally!

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life!  If He loved us while we were yet sinners, how much more does He love us now as His prized possessions?!

Jesus Christ was the only propitiation for our sins, the reconciliation between man and God, enabling us to enter His presence, there is no other way!

I used to think that God would not love me anymore if I didn’t do the right things, if I did not conform to how the church wanted me to act, this is religion not Christianity!

What must we do in order for us to be saved?  It’s not by doing anything, but by repenting of our sins and accepting Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior!  It’s a free gift of love given to us by our Father in heaven, not because of anything we have done or not done, but by the sacrifice of His Son, only by what He has done!

Do not be deceived into believing that you must do certain things or act in certain ways to be saved, it’s just not true, nor is it true that God will not love you, He does and He will!

This does not mean that we should not live as Christ lived, or do good works for the Lord, of course we should.  We should allow Christ to live in us and us in Him.  Amen.

What I am talking about has to do with conforming to man’s principles and values, not God’s.  Man has taken the word of God Almighty and changed it to the ways of the world, twisted it into being something that it is not.

None of us are perfect, we all make mistakes, we all at times sin, but guess what?!  God still loves us!  Do you actually believe for one minute that God is sitting up in heaven perplexed by all of the Christians sinning in the world?  Do you think that He is surprised by it?!  Of course not, He knows all things, all before the creation of the universe, nothing is a surprise to Him, nothing!

So why should we as believers think for one minute that God will stop loving us if we do the wrong thing?  After-all He knew that we would, yet He still saved us?  Right?

Don’t be hard on yourself when you mess up, when you sin, or when you do the wrong thing.  Repent of it and ask God to forgive you, and of course He will.  But also remember that through it all He still loves you so very much!

Religion, a set of ideals, laws, actions, and deeds performed to gain God’s acceptance.  The only problem with that is there is only one way to gain His acceptance, by accepting His Son, Jesus Christ as your Savior!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

2 comments

  1. christine

    I agree with you Gordon. I often used to wonder why The Lord stayed with me when I was young because I often failed and did things I would rather He didn’t know about. To repent is to change your mind about something, I often find it takes a few attempts or more to get really free from the sins that wrap themselves around me and trip me up. The more I hate that sin the weaker it gets. The Lord changes us from inside out and we will agree with Him and then sin loses it’s grip and we are conquerers! I even repent of the sins of others and the world because I feel them keenly as mine and know I am in my natural self capable ot those sins too!

    God bless
    Christine

Leave a Reply

