Confusion? Listen to God!

God

Commentary By:  Gordon King

The end times are full of confusion and chaos, leading many down the wrong path, a path which leads to destruction.  There are many in the world and even in the church itself who lead people astray.  With all of this confusion many will find it difficult to make the right decisions in life.

As followers of Christ we must do that, follow Christ.  Yet, when we are inundated with so-called believers telling us that what we believe from scripture is false, then we become doubtful and at times even confused.  I know this is true for myself and I suspect for many other believers as well!

Confusion is not from God, but from the father of all lies, Satan!  He is the author of confusion, the king of chaos, and the ruler of darkness, and his is to lead as many people away from Christ as he possibly can, even believers.

We must listen to God Almighty and follow His lead.  Yet, what if we don’t hear from God?  What if He is silent or we just don’t hear Him?  I don’t know about you, but I don’t always hear from God, at times it seems as though He is nowhere to be found!  However, I know from scripture that He is always with me and will never forsake me.

If and when I do not hear God’s voice, then I must turn to the scriptures, I must remember His words and His promises to me.  I must ask Him to show me the way, show me the truth, and give me wisdom and understanding, and He has in most things.  However, there are things which I have been praying about for years and have not yet been given an answer, and in these things I must be patient.  I know God hears me and He will respond according to His will, yet not always on my timeline!

Why doesn’t God always speak to us?  Why is it that at times it seems that He isn’t even around?

I know that for many Christians they do not hear God speaking to them, that it seems as though they must have done something wrong in order for God to be silent.

I do believe that this could very well be the case.  If we are disobedient or living in sin, then God very well may be silent, or we have distanced ourselves from Him by our own actions or lack of action.  Sin builds a wall of separation in our relationship with God, just as it does in a marriage.  When we build these walls then it becomes more difficult to communicate.  Yet, I do not believe that this is always the case.

Proverbs 8:17

“I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me.”

I believe that we may not hear God speaking to us for other reasons as well.  Perhaps God is trying to tell us something by being silent, or perhaps He is desiring for us to seek Him out!  Or He may be building up within us patience and faith.  Whatever the reason, I believe that the answer is to seek Him out, to study His word, and to keep our faith.

Deuteronomy 4:29

But from there you will seek the Lord your God, and you will find Him if you seek Him with all your heart and with all your soul.

When we are confronted with people who confuse us with their own version of the bible, with their twisting or omission of words, then we must seek the Lord!  If we humbly seek God for answers, then I believe that He will answer us, scripture tells us so.

Matthew 7:7-8

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.”

Unfortunately, the confusion will increase, there will be those seeking to devour the righteous, but there will also be confusion among the brethren, and this is not from God! 

We must seek with a humble heart, discern from a spirit of truth, and learn with a heart of love and kindness.

Do not be deceived by those who lead you away from scripture, nor let them confuse you by the twisting of the truth, or by the addition or omission of words.  We do not follow man, but God!  Listen to what He has to say.

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Confusion? Listen to God! – Watchman
  2. thelostcoinblog

    Well said Gordon, thank you.

    Psa. 71:1 In thee, O LORD, do I put my trust: let me never be put to confusion.
    Jer. 3:25 We lie down in our shame, and our confusion covers us: for we have sinned against the LORD our God, we and our fathers, from our youth even unto this day, and have not obeyed the voice of the LORD our God.
    Jer. 7:19 Do they provoke me to anger? saith the LORD: do they not provoke themselves to the confusion of their own faces?

    1Cor.14:33 Since God is not a God of disorder but of peace.
    James 3:16-18 Wherever you find jealousy and ambition, you find disharmony, and wicked things of every kind being done; whereas the wisdom that comes down from above is essentially something pure; it also makes for peace, and is kindly and considerate; it is full of compassion and shows itself by doing good; nor is there any trace of partiality or hypocrisy in it. Peacemakers, when they work for peace, sow the seeds which will bear fruit in holiness.
    God bless. Maranatha!

  3. Jonathan

    Thankyou for warning and reminding against confusion by the devil. We can (& do) fall into confusion easily enough, so do need prayer in the Holy Spirit, , through Christ Jesus to our Heavenly Father God, & reading & learning His Word, The Bible, to help us understand and know God’s Will and Truths. We also need to repent of our sinful ways, ask for The Lord’s forgiveness, and live each day with His Holy Spirit guiding us “in Spirit and in Truth”.Let’s pray for our loved ones earnestly also.

Leave a Reply

