Filled with the Holy Spirit!

The holy spirit within

Commentary By:  Gordon King

Yesterday I was listening to a female preacher on the car radio, she said that if a person thinks that they have been filled with the Holy Spirit, then they have not been.  I disagree with her 100%!

How can I be so certain about this?  Because four years ago I was filled with the Holy Spirit.  I am not telling you this to make myself more than I am or to be better than anyone else, it’s just a fact.  I am not talking about being given the Holy Spirit to live within me, we all receive His Spirit when we are saved, but being filled to the brim and overflowing with His Spirit is much different.

Acts 7:55-56

But he, being full of the Holy Spirit, gazed into heaven and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing at the right hand of God, 56 and said, “Look! I see the heavens opened and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God!”

When the good Lord filled me with His Spirit I definitely knew it!  I felt God within me and around me, I sensed the Holy Spirit working in and through me, and I was led to do things which I would not have normally done.  I actually felt God’s presence, He spoke to me clearly (not audibly), showed me things which were hidden to me before, and made the spiritual world much more visible and understandable.  I would not be where I am today spiritually or have matured in Christ as I have over the past four years if it were not for the Lord filling me with His Spirit.

The apostle Paul was filled with the Holy Spirit after He met Jesus on the Damascus road.  How else could he have accomplished or done what he did, how could he have endured the trials and tribulations that he did if he was given the Holy Spirit but not full of the Holy Spirit?  How could he have such knowledge, insight, wisdom, and understanding of God and his word if he was not filled?  The book of Acts tells us that Paul was filled with the Holy Spirit, and I believe that this means he was not only given the Spirit to live within him, but actually filled with the Holy Spirit.

Do you think that Paul didn’t know that he was blessed with the filling of the Holy Spirit?  I don’t think so, of course he knew it, and he knew that what he was seeing and speaking was not of his own doing but the workings of the Holy Spirit.

We know when and if we are anointed or filled with the Holy Spirit in order to glorify God.  So that we know for certain it is from God and not of ourselves, in order that we may not boast and become full of pride.

Being filled with the Holy Spirit is a wonderful blessing from God, and unfortunately I believe that most believers will never experience it until they get to heaven.  I have been blessed, God has been so good, and I treasure the time when I was filled with His Spirit.  However, this special anointing does not always last forever, as it didn’t for me.  Unfortunately the anointing dissipated over time and I knew it was happening, I could feel it in my spirit.  I prayed and prayed for God not to take it away, but it was His will.  The first five to six months were very intense, yet as time moved on so did the filling of the Holy Spirit.  I still have the Holy Spirit living within me, just not like before.

Why does God give this special anointing to some believers and not others?  I do not know.  I only know that He did it for me and I am so thankful and grateful for it.  I consider it one of the most highest privileges and honors.  I wish that everyone could experience this wonderful event, however I believe that most will not.

Acts 11:24

(speaking of Barnabas)

For he was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and of faith. And a great many people were added to the Lord.

The good Lord has a reason and a purpose to fill His children with His Holy Spirit.  I believe that it is to spread the gospel, to encourage, to perform His will on earth.

And while we may not be “filled” with the Holy Spirit, we do have the Holy Spirit living within us.  We should not grieve the Holy Spirit, but gain favor from God by listening to what the Spirit has to say, and by following the leading of the Holy Spirit. 

Ephesians 4:30

“And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.”

We can become closer to God, we can understand more of God and His ways, and we can gain wisdom, insight, and knowledge by maintaining a close relationship to the Lord.

It is not by our own will that we become “filled” with the Holy Spirit, but by the will of our Father in heaven.  He both gives and takes away.  I never knew what being “filled” with the Spirit meant before it happened to me.  I was a prodigal son, not living a godly life, and yet the Lord filled me after I hit rock bottom, crawling on my knees, humbling myself before Him.  He brought me back into the fold, strengthened my faith, and showed me His will for me in my life.

I cannot say what other believers have experienced with the Lord, or just what it may have been like for them, I can only speak for myself.  However, for someone else to tell me that what I have experienced was not real is like telling  someone that how they feel after the death of a loved one or the birth of their newborn baby isn’t real, that their experience didn’t really happen.  Of course it happened and they know how they felt, even though someone else may not.

And there may be those who were filled with the Holy Spirit, yet did not have the same feelings as I did, I don’t know, I really cannot speak for them.  But for me it was the best experience that I have ever had in my life time, only followed closely by the birth of my children!

Allow the Holy Spirit of God to work in and through you.  Seek God first in all things, give Him thanks, praise and worship!  Love those who despise and use you, love your enemies, help those in need, and encourage those around you.  Pray for the lost, pray for those hurting and in need, pray for the peace of Jerusalem and Israel, do to others as you would want them to do to you.  Make Jesus Christ your life!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

9 comments

  1. christine

    I totally believe that if we ask then we can be filled with the Holy Spirit, I know and can testify to this experience, I didn’t understand what had happened at the time but spoke a strange language when I tired to speak so I also know that speaking in tongues follows.

    God bless you Gordon and Maranatha!
    Christine

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for sharing Christine!

      I know that once we are saved then we are baptized with the Holy Spirit, meaning that God’s Spirit lives within us, and at that time have the ability to speak in tongues. However, what I am talking about in this post is different, it is an overflowing of the Holy Spirit, perhaps this is what you also experienced. I know that when I was saved I also felt the Holy Spirit rushing through my body, as if I were electrified. I did not speak in tongues until I prayed for approximately two weeks to speak in tongues, then I woke up in the middle of the night speaking in tongues.

      God bless ! Maranatha!

  2. Pingback: Filled with the Holy Spirit! – Watchman
  3. SweetJava

    Beautiful Gordon. I wholeheartedly agree.
    When I was at my lowest state of mind and spirit, I cried out to God, letting Him in on all the pain in my heart I was feeling, going through, asking for direction and guidance with deep felt tears in my eyes. A profound and powerful joy overwhelmed me as I was confessing my all to Him, a release of all my tightly held emotions poured out of me and I felt a powerful assurance that whatever I was going through would not be for long and would be for the better of me and/or those around me. This calmness overcame my broken spirit, and the clarity of knowing I wasn’t alone is powerful medicine for my soul.
    It made me search Him for a deeper understanding, in prayer (just talking to Him one on one from the heart, not a repetition of words) and through His inspired word I was able to truly understand Him taking my burden and giving me His peace. God wants a personal relationship with us, not a superficial one. It made me want to know more about the wonderful gift His love offers. The love He gave me personally, by taking me out of the abyss I was in. I asked/ask for wisdom and discernment in reading His inspired word, in knowing the good the bad and the ugly and growing from that, not being caught up in it.
    As the years go by the secular world we live in does lure you out from time to time (for we’re only human), and the intensity of that powerful joy dissipates a bit. But keeping focus in knowing more about Him through the person who opened the door for us – Jesus Christ and through Their Spirit, The Comforter continues renewing us daily. Jesus makes it possible to be one with the Father. Through different venues as well, i.e. spiritual music, books, inspirational people, a biblical based church and other uplifting messages God provides, will keep us grounded and always looking up in the hardest of situations we might/will face. The intensity of the Holy Spirit are in the good fruits we bear and the love the Father has for us in paying it forward, makes you want to share the good news…
    .
    A change of direction in your life happens, from an unbelieving and rebellious one to a place of acceptance and trust. You come out of the ashes of pain a better person. And even though we might backslide at times with confession and a sincere heart not to offend again, He forgives us. We must realize our weaknesses and have the Lord help us to overcome them and to become stronger through Him, with Him, for Him. His will, His Spirit in us. God is always with us through His Spirit we are one (being born again in the spirit).
    The Comforter as Jesus told us will lead us to all understanding, to a peaceful place in our heart and mind even in the mist of chaos. Jesus told us He would never leave us! Thank you, Heavenly Father.
    We all come to a fork in the road — the well travel one and the least. It’s an individual choice each individual must make on on their own.

    The Holy Spirit is the dividing force, the power of God working in us in changing our carnal mind (our rebellion) to a spiritual connection with the Father, IF you let Him into your heart (it begins there). The Holy Spirit opens our mind to the marvels of God, to His truth. The world takes these truths and distorts it, changes it, eliminates them so we become sheeple not free individuals… God’s law exposes this, exposes sin. The Holy Spirit changes you from the inside, the core of your being, your heart, melting it to receive His joy. Love is the greatest gift! And the most precious gift of the Spirit, not a spirit of fear or hatred, but of power and sound mind that we can call out ‘Abba, Father’! And He hears us.
    Everyday is a challenge, we’re a work in progress, everyday I ask Jesus to come into my heart, and abide in me that I may produce the fruit of His Spirit and shine His light, not my own, brighter for His glory. It’s a personal journey we each take with some bumps along the way, by our own sidetracking or others interfering, don’t let the bumps discourage you but confront them head on and move on, for the journey is well taking for it leads to the gates of heaven. And the Holy Spirit living in us is our guide.
    God bless us all in realizing how precious we are in His eyes that we are called His children.. All we have to do is let Him in.

    God bless you Gordon with continual insight, my friend. Maranatha!

    • Gordon King

      Thank you SweetJava!

      I couldn’t agree with you more! It is all about our relationship with God, allowing His Holy Spirit to work within us and through us, we have become one with God and God with us. This is what it’s truly all about. And when we sin we damage our relationship, I believe we can never lose our salvation, but we can hinder our communication with God.

      The darker times become the more we need a close relationship with God, and the more difficult it will become to withstand the wiles of the devil. However, if we stand firm in our faith, and in our daily walk with the Lord, then it will be easier for us if we allow God to work within us, if we follow the leading of the Holy Spirit.

      I believe that God is always with us, and that His mighty angels surround us, that He protects His own and only allows things to harm us if it is according to His will. With that being said, our persecution is but a light affliction compared to what awaits us in heaven, and He makes all things work together for our good. Amen.

      God bless! Maranatha!

  4. Pingback: The Holy Spirit’s guidance – thelostcoinblog

Leave a Reply

