Division among Believers!

For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God

Commentary By:  Gordon King

Yesterday I wrote a post about God loving even sinners, and it seems to have drawn some criticism from believers, not unbelievers.  First of all I would like to say that I did give my reasons for writing that post, but apparently everyone didn’t read that part or skimmed past it so fast they really didn’t give it any or much thought.

I wrote that post because I had a very uneasy and restless spirit regarding God not loving sinners.  It placed some doubts in my mind and tested my faith.  To me this is a very important topic, one which plays a vital role in my relationship with the Lord.  This is why I wrote the post, not to make people angry with me, not to hate anyone, but to share the love of God, and to get to the truth!  I wrote this post not for the unsaved, but for the saved!

There seems to be a certain train of thought among believers who believe that God does not love sinners.  That if we tell them that God loves them, then they will not accept Christ as their Savior.  This makes no sense to me personally.  I believe just the opposite to be true.

For example, if we tell a sinner that God hates them and is going to send them to hell, then we tell them that He also has a plan for them to be saved, only if they repent and believe, do you actually think that they will believe?  Or will it drive them further away from God?  I believe the later to be true.

On the other hand, if we tell sinners that God loves them, that we love them also, and that they need to repent of their sins or they will go to hell, then we tell them about God’s plan for their salvation, do you think that they will be more inclined to believe?  I think so.  If God hated them then why would he offer them salvation and the gift of eternal life anyway?

It’s sort of like trying to eat a turkey right from the freezer!  Pull out a frozen turkey and try to eat it.  Even if you could it would make you awfully sick!  The turkey must first be put into the refrigerator to thaw, then it must be washed clean, then cooked in the oven, then left to sit for a time before it is ready to be eaten.  Well, the unsaved are sort of the same way.  We cannot just walk up to them and tell them that God hates them and they are headed for eternal hell!  We must pray to God first to soften their hearts, we must show them the love of God.  We need to let them know that all is not lost, that God does love them, and that He has a plan for their salvation, that there is an alternative to eternal hell, and that is eternal heaven!  And just like preparing a turkey for dinner, it cannot be done all at once, but one step at a time.

If we go around shouting “God hates you sinners, you are all damned to eternal hell, forever!”, just how many souls do you think we will win to Christ?!  On the other hand, if we shout out “God loves you, repent of your sins, escape the judgment of eternal hell and accept Jesus Christ as your Savior!”, which do you think will have a more positive effect on saving lost souls?

If Christianity is all about hate, then who in their right mind would want anything to do with that?!  I sure wouldn’t!

There seems to be some other trains of thought among believers who think that God hates sinners, and that is that God could not love people who are sent to hell.  That while these people are in hell God could not still love them, and that if He did then they would still  have the chance to repent and be saved.

First of all and for the record, I have never said that anyone who has died has a second chance of salvation, never have I said that nor do I believe it!  With that being said, does God still love people who are in hell?  I believe the answer to that is yes!  Why wouldn’t he?  There is nothing that we do or have done that will save us, nothing!  We all have sinned, and we all do sin at times, yet God still loves us.  Why would God stop loving us because we are in a place of torment?  On the contrary, I believe that God not only loves those in hell, but has sorrow and grieves for their souls. 

Hell is real, just as heaven is real.  It is a place of torment and separation from God, that means that those living there do not know God or His love for them.  If your name is not written in the Lamb’s Book of Life, then you will spend eternity in hell, forever!  What does God’s love for the lost have to do with people in hell?  God is love, that is who He is, we cannot change that nor should we try to.  We cannot understand God completely nor know all of His ways, they are mysteries to us.  Yet one day in heaven we shall know much more than we do now, these things will make much more sense to us.

God Almighty is righteous, just, holy and pure, and because He is then He must be fair and just.  He must perform according to who He is, and that means those who have not paid for their sin must do so some how, some way.  But, there is only one way to pay the debt, and that way is by the blood of Jesus!  The penalty for our sin is eternal death in hell.  Yet, if we place our trust and faith in Jesus, He has already paid our debt, this is the good news!

God loves everyone and wishes for no one to perish!  If He hated sinners then why would He have a plan for our salvation?  Why would He even want to?  Wouldn’t He just do away with us once and for all?  Yet, He didn’t!  He did have a plan, a plan to save those lost in the world, because He loves us!

It’s sort of funny the way God works.  When I was first faced with the question “Does God hate sinners” it through me for a loop!  It placed doubts in my mind regarding my faith, regarding my relationship with God Almighty.  It really shook me up thinking that just maybe God does hate sinners!  But as I prayed to God, and I did more research on the subject, it led me to believe more and more that God does not hate sinners, but He most definitely hates sin!  It led me to believe more and more that God really does love everyone, that He loves all of us.

For me, these questions went from uncertainty to certainty!  From having some doubts in my mind to standing firmly on the Rock!  To having increased faith in God, to being strongly convicted in my beliefs, and being able to say without a doubt in my mind that God loves everyone!

For those of you who believe that God hates sinners, then so be it, it’s your choice.  I don’t hate you for it, I don’t wish any harm or ill thoughts your way.  You are my brothers and sisters in Christ, I love you!  I wish for us to live in peace, and for all of us to come to the knowledge of the truth.  What I have written are my beliefs about God and His ways, why I believe them, and why I stand so strongly convicted in them.

LORD God Almighty show us Your ways.  You are mighty and great, loving and pure, Your ways are much higher than our ways, and Your thoughts much higher than our thoughts.  Give us the wisdom, knowledge, and understanding to know the truth.  Have mercy on us and forgive us of our sins.  Fill us with Your Holy Spirit and guide us along Your path of righteousness.  In Jesus name I pray.  Amen

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

8 comments

  1. Christchild

    Dear brother in Yeshua Ha’Mashiach,
    I love you.
    I am Aby Abraham, a little child whom Yeshua redeemed by his blood after many years of torture by the devil.
    And life ever since is in the warmth of his heart.
    My God who touched me always says to me,
    ” Son, I need love and love alone. Love everyone as I have loved you. In everything, do for your brothers and sisters what I have done for you. Die for me, the way I died for you. Bear the burdens of your friends and pray for them.
    Child, this world needs my love.”
    He has anointed me with his love.
    But once, my life was in an ugly swamp of the devil’s snares.
    Brother, we must understand that Christ has died for all sinners because he LOVED them much more than himself. Christ says to us, ” The greater are the sins of a man, the greater is he worthy of my love.”
    Christ so loved the world that he preached to them that were in hell.
    Did he not spend some time in hell too? Yes. To preach his name to them that were trapped from the time of the great flood.
    The believers were saved.
    In hell there is no love, but confusion. And it is true that our righteous father weeps terribly for the children trapped in hell.
    Christ is the name. And the alternative is hell. There are millions and millions walking the highway to hell. There is no escape from it once trapped.

    ” And they shall go forth, and look upon the carcases of the men that have transgressed against me: for their worm shall not
    die, neither shall their fire be quenched; and they shall be an abhorring unto all flesh.” Isaiah 66 : 24

    We can do something.
    The Spirit of Christ is the testimony.
    Christ loves you.
    It is upon his gentle instruction that I have written this long comment.
    Aby.

  2. Karen

    I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that God loves all of His children. He created us. We are sinners right up to our redemption. It says in His word that He grieves over losing any of us. Why would He care if He hates us? After some of the sins that I committed pre Salvation I was so unworthy but He was just to forgive and save me….Hallelujah. All praise to my glorious Lord and Saviour! Thank you for speaking the truth in your posting….Amen

  3. alice

    God hates the sin but loves the sinner
    some of them will get saved just as we did when we were sinners. Jesus died for their sin and ours too

  4. christine

    Hello Gordon, it was me that wrote to you before but somehow it came to you as anonymous! Thank you for taking the time to reply and give scriptures. I know God can raise the dead to life again because Jesus did so in this world as did Paul I wonder what lessons there are to learn from those stories I will pray and seek clarity. I know the begging and the faith of their loved ones was important part of the stories;

    God tells us to love our enemies and do good to them so this must be sinners but he also tells us to hate the very garment stained by sin so there is a distinction between the person and their sin.Love the persons but hate their sin.

    I think your right about winning people to Christ through His love because sometimes telling someone about Hell and punishment seems to push them further away in Hostility but often if I told of God’s great love for them they softened and drew closer. I think we just have to be anointed and led by the Spirit to preach the Gospel message because those Spirit led words just hit the target .

    God bless you always Gordon!

    Christine

    • Gordon King

      Thanks Christine!

      God has raised the dead, and this maybe an exception to being able to accept Christ after our death. If a person is raised from the dead can they then accept Christ? Good question. I have heard stories of people who say that they have died and went to hell, then came back to life and accepted Christ, and now live to serve God.

      If you find some scripture to support this then please let me know. I don’t have all of the answers and I don’t think that anyone does.

      I know one thing for sure, and that is we will all face Christ one day and give an account for our life here on earth. We will be held accountable for what we have done and not done, for what we believe or don’t believe. Those who believe that God hates sinners will have to face Jesus and tell Him that, on the other hand, I will have to face Jesus and tell Him that I believe He loves everyone. Just a thought.

      God bless Christine!

Leave a Reply

