Believe in Jesus Christ or Don’t, The Choice is yours!

God Loves You

Commentary By:  Gordon King

I have recently received much feedback from a recent post that I wrote about science proving God.  It seems to have stirred much controversy and ill feelings towards me and God, but maybe that’s a good thing.

First of all, I am no scientist nor have I ever claimed to be.  However, it does not take a rocket scientist to figure out that every physical thing in this universe is in a state of decay!  If not then please someone tell me what is not.  Even a new-born baby is headed for decay, as he or she grows older and closer to death, receives negative input from the world, and suffers injuries throughout his or her life.  You could even go as far as to say that a new-born baby is as close to physical perfection as we will ever get in this life time.

I am not perfect, never claimed to be, and never said that I was.  I make mistakes just like everyone else does, I sin, and sometimes I do things on my own instead of following God’s lead.  These things I know about myself.  I do not consider myself better than anyone, nor do I believe that I am holier than the next, and I know that God still has a lot of work left to do inside of me!  In fact, I would say that I am probably not as good a Christian as most that I know.

What I write in my posts are my beliefs of the truth, and why I believe them to be true.  No one has to agree with me, that is your choice and I respect that.  Many people in the world worship other gods in different religions, and that is their choice, I respect that also.  Even homosexuals have a choice to make, and although I do not agree with their choices, I agree with their choice to make them!  However, I will continue to voice my beliefs and my faith in God Almighty.  Even other believers in Jesus Christ may not agree with everything that I write or believe in to be the truth, and I respect their opinions, yet I still believe what I believe to be the truth.

I love everyone, and I pray that the good LORD gives me a heart more like His!  I want nothing but the best for all people in the world, sinners and saved alike.  I am very passionate about what I write and why I write it, and I believe at times it comes across to some people as being hateful and intolerant.  Some things that I write shake people up, and perhaps it should.  There are people who come to this site who are not believers, nor do they come seeking God.  Instead they come condemning and attempt to tear down my faith and beliefs.  However, I do believe that God has brought them here for other reasons, perhaps to convict them of their sins, perhaps to give them a chance to hear the truth!

There is something changing, not only in the world today, but also in myself!  I am not sure yet just what it is, but I do not feel the same.  I love God with all of my heart, and ask Him to help me to love Him more each day.  Perhaps He is sanctifying me in some way in which I am not accustomed to, or perhaps I am making some sort of leap in my faith, I just don’t know because it feels different to me.  I seem to be seeing things a little differently now then I have in the past, and I pray to God that it is a good thing!

God loves everyone, all people, all across the world!  He loves us all, yet I do believe that once we accept Him as our Lord and Savior, then He holds us in a special place in His heart!

I wish no ill regard towards anyone, and I desperately wish for the salvation of all!  Yet, I know in my heart that not all will choose to know Christ, nor will all agree with me and my beliefs.  Some will choose to believe in other gods, some to follow the world view and worldly ways, and I respect their decision.  I used to believe that I could change people’s minds, that I could talk them into believing in God, but I cannot!  I cannot, and it is not my place to do so either.  Only God Almighty can do that.

What I can do is show them the love that Christ has shown me.  I can treat them with kindness, with respect, and with forgiveness!  These are things I can do.

Many of us have and do suffer from pain, trials, and tribulations.  We live day in and day out enduring what has come upon us, living the best that we can in a world full of sin.  At one time I believed that being a Christian meant living a life free from pain and suffering, that once you were saved you would live a life full of happiness without sorrows.  This has not been the case for me, in fact, I would say that the closer I get to God, the more I go through.  However, I also know that God is with me, that He has given me a joy in my heart, and reassurance that He will help me through all things!

God has created a beautiful world for us to live in, full of His mighty works.  We should stop and rest, taking time to enjoy the things that God has made.  Even though the world is full of evil and darkness, there are still things in this world which God has made for us, things which deserve our admiration, things which He wants us to enjoy.  A beautiful sunset over the ocean, tall evergreens covering a mountain, clouds in the sky floating in a blue sky, a butterfly fluttering in the air, or perhaps even the stillness of the day!  When I spend a little time outdoors under the sunshine I feel energized and renewed, as if my batteries have been recharged.  We should thank God for what He has done and what He has made!

Does it really matter what scientists say when we can see it and sense it for ourselves?  Does it matter if the universe was created with a “Big Bang” or not?  When we are born again, then we know God, we have experienced His Spirit, and we know for ourselves that God is real!  Isn’t this enough?  It is for me!  He has saved me from so many bad experiences in life that I have lost count!  He has forgiven me of sins so many times that it is impossible for me to remember them all.  He has saved me, changed me, given me a new life!  He gives me visions and dreams, leads me, guides me, and helps me all along the way.  He blesses me, heals me, comforts me, and loves me!  What more do I need?

All physical things in this world are in a state of decay, this is true whether you believe it or not!  The only thing in this world which are not in decay are the born-again spirit and the Spirit of God!  Once you are saved you are given a new spirit, a living and eternal spirit, a spirit which will never get old, never decay, and will live forever with God!  Isn’t that sort of funny?  Everything which is temporary in this world is decaying.  Yet, the things which are eternal are not!  Eternal things are in a state of regeneration and renewal, you cannot say that about anything in the physical world.

The world view does not see things the same way as believers in Jesus Christ.  Believers in Jesus Christ see things from a heavenly view, or at least they should.  The eternal is more real than the physical, this is true, and it lasts forever!  Believe in God or not, it’s your choice.  Believe that Jesus Christ is the only way to heaven, or not, the choice is yours to make, no one will force you, no one will make you believe, only you and God can do that!

God loves you, I love you!  We only want the best for you.  Please don’t turn your back on God, at least think about accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior!

Accept Jesus Christ now as your personal Lord and Savior!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

8 comments

  1. Marques Jeffries

    May God continue to bless you, Gordon, and keep you encouraged. Keep sharing what God has given you to share. Your posts are always very informative, and are a blessing to myself and many others.

    • Gordon King

      Thank you Marques!

      I appreciate your kind words. Unfortunately my posts seem to be a curse to many. Maybe that in and of itself is a good thing!

      God bless!

  2. Christine

    Hello Gordon, I too have felt something is changing for me and I too have had a difficult time this week with quite a hostile unbeliever who has been challenging on the existence of God and Christian faith. However, the Lord is good and has given me just the right words and thoughts to enable me to witness and I may never know the outcome but trust God that His word will do that for which it is sent and will not return void. Maybe we are just one link to God in their lives and there will be others and when the time is right the light will reach them or maybe they will keep on stiffening their necks until there is no hope for them. We must just continue to do what we have been commissioned to do and proclaim The Gospel in season and out when convenient and when it is not. I want more opportunities to talk with people but it is getting much harder to have those conversations because the clouding of minds is so thick . I pray the Lord will open up opportunities and that I will not waste them but be bold and say what He gives me to say even if I am not well received. I am praying daily for those the Lord has put in my way and standing in the breach for them. I have been forgiven so much that I find I have no stones left to throw in judgement at anyone just a heart for them to be saved and forgiven so they will not face judgement for their sins. Do you feel weary sometimes? Just lately I have been feeling weary so I am calling upon the Lord to refresh and revive me. Even Jesus had to remove Himself from the crowds sometimes to be refreshed because the power was continually going out of Him to meet the needs of others. It is good I think to pull back sometimes and be still. Recently when I wake in the mornings I know that I have been instructed in the night I am aware that even though I sleep my spirit is awake unto The Lord! It is enlightening to read the Psalms because when you are not sure what is happening to you there are so many examples where the Psalms will reveal the experiences you are having are those that were experienced by the writers too!

    God bless Gordon! Maranatha!

    • Gordon King

      Thank you Christine!

      I often feel weary and as if what I am doing for the Lord has no real bearing on the lost. As though I am just beating my head up against a brick wall. But God is good, and like you said His words will not return void. We do need refreshing, and we need a day of rest. We need to enjoy what the Lord has given to us for relaxation, peace, and comfort. And there are times I believe that the Lord does want us to just take a step back and rest, maybe to reflect, maybe to just stop and listen to Him!

      God bless Christine! Maranatha!

  3. SweetJava

    Beautifully said Gordon. I concur with with all your points.

    When I was baptized (by immersion), coming up from the water my Pastor told me “Now the battle begins, arm yourself with God’s word, keep Him close to your heart. The challenges/trials will begin in earnest, but as long as you’re within God’s grace you WILL come out of them, better for having gone through them.” Hard to believe at the time your experiencing hardship, but none the less true. I have never forgotten his words.
    Even though at times it’s hard to fathom one can go through such pain/confrontations being connected with the Lord. The truth of the matter is we’re still in the world, however we must be apart from it. Jesus, Himself was challenged while here. AND yet, He conquered, believing in the Father. We should do no less; that was His purpose, to unite us back into fellowship.
    The battles are all around us in many forms. They’re lessons to be learned and grow from. Not give up when times get tough, but persevere. It’s one of the reasons I believe every circumstance we’re given are life lessons either for ourselves or others. In focusing on finding the lesson, the the hardship looses some of its sting. How we handle the situations shows our true nature/spirit of who we are inside and who we believe in. The right attitude, belief in God, brings out the fruit of His Spirit and anything is possible through faith. He sustains us through all the challenges, the ups and downs. Mountains can become molehills.
    “You who love the LORD, hate evil! He preserves the souls of His saints; He delivers them out of the hand of the wicked.” Psalm 97:10
    He came to us, to give us life more abundance. Every good thing comes from Him. His protection is with us, but only if you have asked Him into your heart. He does not barge in, but invited in, by you.

    The evil one likes to discourage and manipulate situations to his advantage, (and getting bolder now more then ever) with deceptions of every kind to have us fall. Humans that we are at times we do fall, we’re not perfect. But having God in you, with you, having faith in Him, we are forgiven. And things do turn around for the betterment of us as individuals, not always to our liking but better for us in the long run. This is all the difference in the world, our faith, a new start into becoming more Christ-like, in a world that is decaying. A reason Christians see the world differently is we can sense and know a better outcome is before us. Not loosing faith, fortitude or hope in our lifeline, Jesus Christ.
    We are all still a work in progress, in His hands as Christians while we still have breath. Redemption, confession, repentance, acceptance, salvation, sanctification comes to us all by Jesus Christ, who paid our penalty for our sinful nature and gives us new life through Him, with Him. And this is a gift He offers everyone, no one is excluded unless one chooses to be.

    Although the world is dying around us in one way or the other, and He’s not with us physically, His Spirit lives on. His Spirit lives in us, if we choose to believe.
    As surely as He came the first time and walked among us, He has promised to come back and take us home. Do not loose hope. But stay connected to the only source of life, the only source of true love. Love forgives a multitude of sins.
    ‘Hatred stirs up strife: but love covers all sins.” Prov,10:12
    “Because he has set his love upon Me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he has known My Name.” Psalm 91:14
    Getting to know Him is the beginning of a beautiful relationship of respect and of love. For He is LOVE!
    God bless us all. Maranatha!
    Thank you again, Gordon.

    • Gordon King

      Thank you SweetJava!

      Love says it all! Respect one another, forgive one another, be kind to one another, help one another, carry each others burdens, all out of love, a love that binds one another to each other and to the Lord!

      God bless!

Leave a Reply

