Understanding!

Do you hear God

Commentary By:  Gordon King

It isn’t enough just to know, we need to understand!

We can know many things, however if we do not understand what they mean then what good do they do us?  For instance, if we drive in Mexico and come to a red sign which reads “ALTO”, we can read what it says, but if we don’t understand Spanish then what good does the sign do us?  We may just continue on down the road only to find ourselves plowing into a passing car coming across our path!

We can know who God is, we can know that Jesus Christ is the only way to heaven, however if we don’t really understand it then we will may find ourselves headed down the wrong path.  Just because we know who God is doesn’t make us saved, nor does it guarantee ourselves a place in heaven!

Knowing does not mean understanding, however, the knowledge of God is understanding!

Proverbs 9:10

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,
And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.”

Isn’t this verse saying the same thing?  No, not exactly.  The knowledge of God doesn’t mean just to know who God is, but actually to “know” God!  How can you know God if you don’t have a relationship with Him?  You can’t!

To have understanding is to know God, to have a personal relationship with God.  There are many people in the world today who say that they know God, yet they are unsaved.  They claim that they know who God is, but what they really mean is that they know of God, not on a personal level.

We cannot do anything on our own accord, it is by the power of God Almighty that we do all things, even the unsaved.  When we have a personal relationship with the God of the universe, then we have understanding.  It is not us who knows and understands all things, but God living within us.

We can push aside what the Holy Spirit tells us, we can ignore the calling from God, we can limit our understanding of what God is telling us.  If we choose to ignore the leading of the Holy Spirit then we do not live by God’s understanding.

We need to understand that it is not us who can do all things, but God living within us!  When we understand just who it is living within us, then we can accomplish all things.  We must also understand that it is not us who is doing these things, but God within.  We have turned our lives over to Christ, we live in Christ and Christ lives within us!

We cannot become more righteous, more holy, or more pure simply by our own works and deeds, not by reading the bible, not by going to church, not by feeding the hungry!  Not that all of these things are not good, of course they are, but it is only in our relationship with Jesus Christ that we become more righteous, holy, and pure.

It is God within us who transforms us into the likeness of Christ, performing His good work which He began upon our salvation, a work which will be completed upon our redemption.

We already have the power within to do all things, to be who God wants us to be, and to perform His will and calling upon our lives.  He has equipped us for every good work, all to the glory of His name, for the kingdom of God!

God works in us and through us as His children.  His light shines through us and His fruit is born by the works He performs through us.  It is not us who does these things, but God in us.  However, we can hinder the workings of the Holy Spirit if we grieve Him, if we do not allow Him to do His work through us.

Understanding is knowing God on a personal level, knowing His will and communing with Him daily.  Rebellion is when we keep the Lord from performing His will through us, it is a sin.

Christ is in us for life, we are in Christ as one.  Together we can perform His will on earth as it is in heaven!  The kingdom of God is living within us, all who are saved!  His kingdom reigns, and His will be done on earth as it is in heaven whether we like it or not.

Listen to the calling of God, know the LORD, and you too shall have understanding!

If you don’t yet know God, then accept Him now as your personal Lord and Savior!

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

11 comments

  1. Anonymous

    The Last couple of days my ears have been blocked now I can hear properly and I was wondering if God was trying to get my attention trying to speak to me.

  2. annime5

    Hi Gordon nice to see you posting again hope all is well with you ?? The last couple of days I’ve been feeling very restless not anxious as if I’m waiting for something but not sure what it is can’t seem to settle down …last night I went to bed tired but still the disquieting feeling. .I woke up through the night absolutely terrified the feeling of absolute evil all around me my heart was pounding. ..I had a drink next to my bed drank some of it and kept myself awake for a little time I was too afraid to go back to sleep. .I prayed for a short time then things started to settle down in me I was able to go back to sleep not sure what it’s all about. ..just wondering if anyone else has this feeling. ….God Bless Maranatha Speed The Day

    • Gordon King

      Thanks for your comments Annime5!

      I have not felt that way lately, but I have felt that way many times over the past few years. I have had visions and dreams of evil spirits, demons, and the like many times. Pray to the Lord for clarification and understanding.

      God bless!

  3. Anonymous

    I have had similar thing happening to me in the middle of the night, I have been waking up in the middle of the night quite a few times lately.

  4. Christine

    Dear Gordon
    I believe I have received the following scriptures as a Word from the Lord for today please read from scriptures Ezekiel 21-28 ‘there will be no delay’. I have shared the scriptures with Prophecy UK as I believe it is following on from the warning I sent them about the Strong Wind From The East Bearing Destruction, I also shared with them the link to The Daily Mail newspaper online article about the governments fears of drones being used by terrorists to spread nuclear waste across Cities as it was several weeks after the original warning I received and I believed from The Holy Spirit that this article was confirming what I had been led to warn of. I have now received Ezekiel 21- 28 as a follow up to those warnings that were not acted on by Prophecy UK and there was no call to prayer or preparation within there online ministry for such a catastrophic event. I thank you that you did receive what I shared and wrote about the need for prayer and prudence of making some practical preparation .I do believe the Lord is warning that there will be no delay now and all He has warned of will be fulfilled and not in some distant future. I will leave this to your discernment of what to share as I am just sending this for your testing not for posting .

    God Bless
    Christine

Leave a Reply

