Our Personal Relationship with God!

Seek ye first the kingdom of God copy

Commentary By:  Gordon King

As I sit quietly in the still of the day I wonder, what would God have me to do?  Jesus Christ, what is your will for me in my life?  What would you have me to do for you today?  Just how can I serve you Lord?

These are questions we as believers should all be asking God on a daily basis.  Knowing what God’s will is for us in our daily lives each and every day is important as followers of Christ.

John 9:31

“We know that God does not listen to sinners, but if anyone is a worshiper of God and does his will, God listens to him.”

But just as important, and maybe even more important is our actual relationship with God!  Do we take the time to speak with God daily?  Do we set aside some time to read His word, to speak with Him, and to love Him?  Do we seek Him in all things? 

When we have problems in life, do we come to Him to help us through, or do we try to do it all on our own.  Then when we have failed, come to Him in shame and humility?  I certainly have, and it almost always ends in destructive consequences, and it seems to distance us further from God, until we are finally broken to the point of utter despair!

Our personal relationship with Jesus Christ is of the utmost importance!  This is true for every believer, each and every one of us, no exceptions!

1 John 1:3-4

“That which we have seen and heard we proclaim also to you, so that you too may have fellowship with us; and indeed our fellowship is with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ. And we are writing these things so that our joy may be complete.”

We can all agree to disagree on certain subjects, and we can have differing views on spiritual things which have no eternal consequence upon our beliefs, yet this one fact is something which none of us should differ on, our relationship with God!

Colossians 1:10

“So as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God.”

God came into this world as a man, both fully human and fully God at the same time.  He came to give us life, and to give it more abundantly, and He did this through a personal relationship with us!  He sacrificed Himself on the cross in order to be able to commune with us here now and forever more.  Amen?

John 17:25-26

“Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. 26 I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

Jesus spent many hours and days building relationships with people when He was here as a man on earth.  He was more than what people view as God sitting up in heaven on billowy clouds.  He was a God-man, a companion and friend to many, and spent much of His time in fellowship, friendship, and loving those around Him!  As a man He needed food and water, but I also believe that He needed companionship.  He needed the interaction of people in His life just as we all do, the human part of Jesus.  Jesus had many friends, including but not limited to His disciples.

Jesus said “When you see Me you see the Father”!

John 14:9

 Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?

Jesus came to earth to show us God in the flesh.  He came to share His love with us, in ways we could understand. 

Why does God want a relationship with us in the first place?  I mean, if He is God, then He could have just done away with humanity after the fall of Adam and Eve, right?  It’s because God desires to have a personal relationship with each and every one of us!  The reason that He created us was to be able to commune with us, for us to appreciate all that He is and all that He has done, to love Him as He loves us, and to show our affection towards Him of our own free will! 

That’s a very good point, “free will”.  God made us so that we could make choices, so that we could love Him because we want to, not because we are made to!  What would be the purpose of God creating beings who loved Him back because they are programmed to?  That would make us nothing more than robots!  How would that glorify God?

John 14:23

‘Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.” ‘

God is love, and He created us in His image, that includes our spirit.  He made us so that we could love, honor, and obey Him in spirit, because God is Spirit!  When we love God as He made us to do, then we are worshiping Him with the highest respect, with the love that He put into our hearts, with the choice to do so of our own free will!  This is holy, righteous, and pure, this is godly and wise, and it is part of the sanctification process making us more Christ-like.

God will make no one love Him back, He has given us all the choice.  Whether or not we choose to spend the time loving Him back is our own choice.  When we worship God, praise God, thank God, pray to God, study His word, listen to God, follow His lead, and commune with God, then we are building a relationship which will last for eternity!  This is why it is so vitally important to stay in a close relationship with the Lord.

Can you imagine getting to heaven and not really knowing who God is?  Standing in front of Jesus and not having a close relationship with Him?  How sad would that be?!  On the other hand, getting to heaven and standing in front of the One whom you have built a strong and close relationship with!  Bowing down at the feet of Jesus, with all humility, thanksgiving, and joy!  What a wonderful experience that will be!  Either way it will be glorious, yet even better when you commune with God each and everyday!

You can be saved and not have a close relationship with the Lord.  You can be a believer, yet not come to the Lord in all things, not talk to God on a daily basis.  However, it will be much better when you do these things, both here now and when you get to heaven!

Psalm 24:3-6

Who may ascend the mountain of the Lord?
    Who may stand in his holy place?
The one who has clean hands and a pure heart,
    who does not trust in an idol
    or swear by a false god.

They will receive blessing from the Lord
    and vindication from God their Savior.
Such is the generation of those who seek him,
    who seek your face, God of Jacob.

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

6 comments

  1. Kristi Ann

    Amen Brother in Christ Jesus-Yeshua Gordon!!

    “Seek Ye First the Kingdom of GOD and HIS RIGHTEOUS, and all these things Shall be added unto you.”!!

    Jesus ( Yeshua ) Christ is KING of kings and LORD of lords, HE is the ALPHA and OMEGA, HE is the FIRST and LAST, HE is the BEGINNING and END!! Glory Hallelujah and Maranatha Amen!!

    Happy Shabbat Shalom ( Peaceful Sabbath ) Everyone!!

    Love Always and Shalom Everyone,

    Kristi Ann

  2. SweetJava

    Beautifully expressed, Gordon. Thank you. A keeper to be shared and reread.
    I whole heartily agree with you, a relationship with Jesus is worth everything. Praise be the name of our Lord and Savior, our King and friend. Love transcend our lowly life into something beautiful.
    God bless.

  3. Christine

    Thank you Gordon! I believe The Lord is drawing His Bride closer and closer, praying without ceasing in the Spirit! I find I am often turning my thoughts and heart towards the Lord throughout my working day. I know He is always with me and is very good at doing jobs I have taken on work that I have been really challenged with as they are outside of my capability in delivering and have done wonderfully all thanks to Lord who has guided me through one step at a time , putting just the right people and information within my path! People have been astounded because they thought I would fail but I can truly do all things through Him who strengthens me! I love a lunch break where I can just sit on my own pray and read.
    Shalom and Maranatha!
    Christine

    • Gordon King

      Thank you sister Christine!

      I know just how you feel about work. Many times I leave work on my own for lunch, sit in my car, and listen to preachers or Christian talk radio. Then I spend some alone time with God! I just need to get away and be alone with God. It energizes me, renews my spirit, and gives me strength and courage to make it through the day!

      God bless! Maranatha!

Leave a Reply

