Fear not, for God is with you!

fear anxiety doubt copy

Commentary By:  Gordon King

As a follower of Jesus Christ, I can perform the will of my Father in heaven, not of my own accord, but by His strength.

Philippians 4:13

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

When times are tough, when the going becomes more than I can bear, I look not within myself, but to Him who gives me life! 

We can do nothing of our own accord, but through the Holy Spirit we can do all things! 

And when we stumble and fall, and we will stumble, we can rest assured that God Almighty will be there to pick us back up and help us along the way.

For the flesh is weak, but the spirit is strong, and they wrestle with each other on a daily basis.  The ways of the world will try to entice us into their sins, into falling away from God.  The flesh seeks what is ungodly, but the spirit seeks the things of God.

Knowing these things gives us the upper hand so to speak. 

Hosea 4:6

“My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: because thou hast rejected knowledge, I will also reject thee, that thou shalt be no priest to me: seeing thou hast forgotten the law of thy God, I will also forget thy children.”

The lack of knowledge destroys people!  God has given us His knowledge so that we may live, and we may live abundantly.  So that we can do all things through the power of Christ!

The world is a difficult place for believers, it is evil, sinful, and wicked.  We can succumb to feelings of fear, anxiety, and doubt.  Yet, He who is in us is stronger than he who is in the world!  Amen.

So, when you feel down and out, when you have feelings of doubt and uncertainty, when you feel like God isn’t there or He doesn’t hear you, know this, that God is always with you, that He lives in and through you, that He will never forsake you, that He is greater than all, and that He is already victorious!

Isaiah 41:10-13

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Behold, all who are incensed against you shall be put to shame and confounded; those who strive against you shall be as nothing and shall perish. You shall seek those who contend with you, but you shall not find them; those who war against you shall be as nothing at all. For I, the Lord your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, “Fear not, I am the one who helps you.”

 

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

7 comments

  1. Andi Garcia

    Awesome! My 22 year old daughter were having a discussion on this yesterday..she was telling me about her telling her cousin she should save her money and invest in something useful for later..and I said yes that’s true BUT you should’ve told her to invest in herself and in God because worldly things and buying them or doing them do not matter..I said she lives in the flesh and will continue to because they don’t know God and His strength and power. See..my daughter is barely coming into her faith in God just as I was not too long ago. But when I said that she says omg ma they don’t have the knowledge and they are very materialistic..I said yes I know and until they want to know God they will be stuck in this world.
    Again awesome.post Gordon!!

    • Gordon King

      Amen Andi! We must invest in our spiritual future in heaven, for it will last for eternity, and the things of this world will come to an end!

      It’s not a bad thing to prepare for our earthly future, yet it is much more wise to invest in our eternal future, where moth and dust cannot destroy!

      Knowledge is power, the power to overcome, the power of salvation, and the power of God Almighty! It gives us insight into God, into His will, both in heaven and here on earth. Just as the Lord’s prayer says, Thy “will” be done on earth as it is in heaven! How many Christians have really thought about that? Not many I presume. God is telling us that His will in heaven can and should be done on earth, just as it is in heaven. Think about it, in heaven there is no pain, no suffering, no worrying about finances, and it can also be that way on earth if we believe and place our trust in Christ!

      God bless sister!

  2. Christine

    Gordon,
    Thank you for this much needed encouragement from The Lord, and is just what I needed to hear today as I have been battling to stay free of fear in my own situation today.The Lord is wonderful and He does what is necessary to keep us in His will because if do we step outside of it we need to get back pretty quickly and giving way to fear is not His will for us but the enemies to bring us down and if possible knock us out!
    God does prove Himself faithful in His promises to those that trust in Him…. Calling on Him and thanking Him for and reminding Him of His promises then claiming them in our difficulties are the way out of them and then when we are delivered from our strong enemies we give thanks and praise to Him which delights Him!
    .’You are my strength, I sing praise to you, you God are my fortress my God on whom I can rely!

    God Bless you Brother and keep you safe in His will and under His protection as you serve Him faithfully!
    Christine

    • Gordon King

      Thank you Christine, my dear sister in Christ!

      God is good, and He will bless those who seek His face and place their trust in Jesus Christ. We don’t always see it, we don’t always feel God’s presence, but it’s there, just as He is there. The Lord’s love for us is so overwhelming, His presence immeasurable. I desire for all believers to be able to feel God’s overwhelming love for them! I have felt it before, and it’s so absolutely amazing!

      I’m not a special person, not a great Christian, I have done nothing special to merit God’s love, nor have I done anything special to deserve salvation. Yet, God loves me more than I could ever imagine! When I think of the reality of this, it makes me humble myself before God, with tears streaming down my face. When we get to heaven then we will know just how great God really is! Too bad most of us don’t already know it!

      God bless Christine! Maranatha!

  3. SweetJava

    Praise God!
    Thank you Gordon for an inspiring post.

    In these chaotic and confusing times, let’s keep ourselves focus on Him, who can give us peace through it all…nothing should surprise us for all is written, what must be will be, what was done will be done…nothing is new under the sun, for those who heed the word…life will be challenging but His guidance, His strength, His power is a prayer within our reach… Thank God for His grace, His gift, His love. You gain so much by accepting Him into your heart. At the same time loose so much by not… God is a gentleman and forces no one.

    He will not falter in accomplishing His will…we must be on His side when everything is said and done. It’s coming down to two choices: the choice to obey God, His commandments and His testimony or obey thyself/man, traditions, fables… this present life gives you false security yet with Christ, He gives you hope that things will change back to what God intended before evil entered its ugly head.
    Anybody with a brain can see where this life is heading to and it isn’t utopia in outer space somewhere… A man made utopia over the centuries has proven fruitless and dangerous; this is where we’re headed…history repeating itself… Let’s get off this train and into the chariots to God’s kingdom…is my desire for everyone willing to take the leap of faith to follow truth, follow Jesus.

    May God open eyes to see the birth pains are increasing and we must be prepared for what’s ahead of us… He has won our freedom from the sting of death, “Fear NOT” in anything that comes our way but face it head on… as difficult as this is at certain times, with God on our side, it all works out for our good. Praise His Holy Name! Jesus let it be so, in Your name I pray, Amen.
    God bless. Maranatha!!

Leave a Reply

