O God, hear my cry!

man kneeling down

Commentary By:  Gordon King

The darkness that surrounds me hovers like a dark cloud, shrouded with evil, unrelenting and all-encompassing.  As I walk through the dark valley my soul feels intense pressure from all around.   My very being emptied of what it means to be human, a feeling of intense loneliness and depression.  The very thought of taking another step sets in motion the need to stop and hide away!  To distance myself from all that surrounds me, to give up and give in.

As I drop to my knees, the depths of my spirit cries out to God Almighty, Jesus Christ!  Help me O God!  Hear my cries, listen to my voice, and have mercy on my soul.  Protect me from the evil which surrounds me, pull me up and out of the darkness, surround me with Your loving arms and shelter me with Your wings!

Have you ever felt like that?  I have!  I’ve been there, done that before.  Many of us may have not had such a dramatic experience such as that, however, we have all gone through trials and tribulations in our lives.  Times of darkness, of disaster of some sort or another.  Times which have led us to feelings of loneliness and depression, perhaps even having suicidal thoughts!

And then there are times when we feel unworthy, of not being good enough for salvation!

All Christians will at times sin, we are after all human and imperfect!  What we need to do is repent of those sins as soon as we possibly can, then get back up and continue down the straight and narrow path which leads to heaven.

There are feelings of shame and unworthiness when I stumble, when I slip and fall.  With each step comes thoughts of failure and self-doubt.  Forgive me of my sins O Lord, I repent of my ungodliness, for only You and You alone can save me!  Have mercy upon me, and show me Your ways!

The God we serve is patient, kind, forgiving, and merciful!  He knows our hearts and our minds, and yet he still saved us!  Amen.

Psalm 61:1-4

Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer.  From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy.  I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah.”

Not all that happens to us however is due to sin that we have committed.  At times we will go through trials and tribulations in life, it is written!  And even so, give it over to God!  Let Him be the One to handle it for you. 

Sometimes we may find ourselves deep in the valley, down in the darkness, with no visible way out.  We run and we run, we climb and fall back down, without any hope for getting out of the pit we find ourselves in!  We become overwhelmed with emotion and unrelenting darkness.  What we should be doing is turning it all over to God!  Let it go and give it to Him! 

Psalm 38:22

“Make haste to help me, O Lord my salvation.”

He is our Savior, our Counselor, our Helper, and our Healer.  It is He and He alone who can save us from the evils in this world!

Psalm 46

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;  Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah. 

There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High.  God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early.  The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved: he uttered his voice, the earth melted.  The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah. 

Come, behold the works of the Lord, what desolations he hath made in the earth.  He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire.  10 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.  11 The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.”

When the evils in this world become overwhelming, seek the Lord and His ways!  Seek first the kingdom of God, follow His path and let Him be your guide.  Don’t let the world take you by storm, pray without ceasing, live a holy life, and put God first in all things!  He is our strength and our refuge!

God is good and He does answer prayer!  When we strengthen our relationship with Him, then we will hear Him better, understand His ways more, and learn to be more like Him!  Amen.

When we have experienced the goodness of God, when we go through various trials and tribulations, then we know God more intimately!  We become much closer to God, more in tune with Him and His ways, and find it much easier to hear Him speaking to us!  Into the darkness we go unknowing, out of the darkness we arise a new creation, strengthened and refined, more Christ-like, readied for what lies ahead!

So don’t be afraid to call out to God, “Hear my cry O Lord, help me and keep me from harm!”

God bless my friends!   Maranatha!

6 comments

  1. SweetJava

    Amen! Praise be to God!
    Very inspiring Gordon, and so true. NEVER give up but find the lesson in the trial and move on… Our Lord is making us stronger with each arrow the evil one throws at us. Stay within His grace at all times.
    thank you for reminding us and encouraging us . God bless you with continual guidance and all of us all to keep the faith.
    Maranatha!

  2. Christine

    Thank you Gordon, much needed and I am sure I will come back and read this post many many times as I too identify with all in it. When I find myself down cast and in the mire of despond I do find that praising The Lord lifts me out but I never feel like doing it but I know it works so I do and God is faithful every time! Also when I fall and sin and come to the Lord he convicts me of the sin which is horrible and yes I just feel so unworthy, it is never pleasurable at the time but the peace afterwards when I ask for His forgiveness and remember His promises is wonderful ! I know that sometimes it is a daily struggle to wrestle with the sins that trip us up and wrap themselves around us but we are more than conqueror in Him and He will get us there and give us the victory over them because we will end up hating those sins more and more. I know when I was trying to give up smoking it was a real battle because I loved that sin but He got me there in the end but only when I had come to the end of myself and gave it up to Him…. so fed up and sick of myself just feeling defeated every day, It just wasn’t worth it because I had to repent of it every single day several times a day for a long time!. I was delivered from smoking when I first got born again but couldn’t understand why I didn’t want to smoke and actually forced myself to continue with my worldly friends at that time (like a dog to its vomit) yuk! That is a mild example I have been a right scumbag but as I say He won’t leave us there and we will get freer and freer and eventually we will be like Him when we see Him face to face! Hallelujah!
    Christine

Leave a Reply

