Let us love one another as Christ first loved us!

jesus-passion-of-the-christ-600

Commentary By:  Gordon King

As believers in Jesus Christ we are not perfect!  At least not yet.  There will come a day when the Lord will complete His good work in us forever.  In the mean time we must all remember just who we are as Christians, who we serve, and how we treat others.

It’s so easy for us to judge others, to see the sin in their life, while forgetting that we ourselves are not perfect either.  I am not talking about making “judgment calls”, we have to do that each and every day.  What I am talking about is “passing” judgment” on others.  In a way, condemning fellow believers for things they may have done or not. 

And while many of us may have good intentions, is it the righteous thing to do?  All of us are different in many ways, none of us do everything the same way.

Our God is one of mercy and forgiveness.  None of us deserve His grace, but yet He bestows it upon us anyway!  Because He loves us!  Isn’t this how He wants us to treat others, especially other believers?!

Being a Christian is so much more than just believing in Jesus Christ, it’s living as Christ lived, serving others to bring glory to God!  This is the real essence of Christianity, humbling ones self, serving others, giving what God has given, and loving people.  It is becoming more Christ like in order to become more like Christ!  It’s unity with our Father in heaven.  How can we then pass judgment on fellow believers and commune with God?

Sin separates us from God, this is also what separates the world from God.  Let us not be like the world, but different, more and more like Christ each and every day!

Love is the answer, and it covers a multitude of sins!  Righteous, godly living bears the fruit of the Spirit. 

All of us are fighting a battle between the flesh and the spirit.  This is a daily battle, between the things of this world and the things of God.  In order to overcome the flesh we must first put on the armor of God, keep His words etched upon our hearts, have mercy, forgiveness, and grace upon all that we meet.  These are things that we must all do on a continual basis, learning, growing, and becoming more like Christ!

None of us are perfect, I know for sure that I am not!  However, we must continue down that straight and narrow path which leads to heaven.  We must continue to put God first in all things, thereby letting God’s light and love shine through us!  He who dwells among us also dwells within us, Amen.

In this Christmas season, let us all love one another with a cheerful heart!  Let us not forget what this season is really all about.  The Savior of the world being born into this world in order to save it, our God coming down to earth as man in order to not only save us, but to commune with us in a manner which we can understand!

I pray the good Lord gives me the wisdom and fortitude to live as He lives.  That He has mercy upon me for the sins that I have committed, and that His grace never ends!  That He gives me insight into His will, and the courage to follow through.  I pray that He shows me His ways, and helps me to love others as He loves us.  In Jesus precious name, Amen!

I pray for all of the lost in the world to come to the knowledge of the one and only true God of the universe, Jesus Christ!  I pray for them to repent of their sins and accept Jesus as their Lord and Savior.  I pray for protection, comfort, and peace to all those being persecuted in the world.  I pray for the good Lord to pour out His Spirit upon all flesh and bring revival to the land!  In Jesus name, Amen.

I have work to do, as God has work to do in me!  I am not perfect, yet I have the hope that one day soon I will be, when the good Lord finishes the work in me which He began.

God bless my friends!  Maranatha!

4 comments

  1. Elaine

    Wow! How true Gordon. We all need a reality check, a reminder that we are not perfect. Saved yes but not perfect. Excellent reading. Thank you again. May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

