God’s Love, Our Obedience to Him

John 3:16  “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believes in him shall not perish, but, have everlasting life”.

File:Pompeo Batoni 003.jpg

The Return of the Prodigal Son   1773 vom Künstler erworben

By Gordon King

God loves his children much more than they can comprehend.  His love runs deep, deeper than any human love can truly understand.  He has given us his word to be steadfast and faithful to us.  To comfort us and guide us in our daily walk with him.  He has promised to supply us with all of our needs.  To be with us always and forever.  To never leave us.  To give us eternal life with him.

What does he ask for in return?  God wants our love in return.  He wants us as his children to obey him.  To be walking with him daily.  To have a close and personal relationship with him.  He wants our love and adoration of him and for him.  To recognize just how magnificent, awe inspiring and great that he is.  To ask him for help in everything that we do.  To give him thanks, praise and glory.  To follow his commands.  He wants us to be the grateful children that he originally created and intended for us to be.

Why do so many Christians now suffer?  Why do they grieve over the things that God said he would provide?  Where is God when they need him the most?  Why doesn’t he answer their prayers?  Is he still with them?  Has he left them like he said he never would?

I will answer these questions from my own perspective.  As a believer and follower of Jesus since I was seventeen years old, I have walked away from God many, many times.  I have sinned and not obeyed what God has commanded me to do.  Of how to behave as a Christian, of how to interact with God the way the he tells us to.  As a consequence of my actions I have suffered immensely for it.  God has let me suffer.  He has not answered many of my prayers in the past. 

Why has God let these terrible things happen to me?   Was I being punished?  I sure thought that I was.  God let these things happen to show me the error of my ways.  He was waiting for me to cry out to him.  Waiting with open arms for me to come running back to him.  As in the parable of the prodigal son, I came back to God several times only to walk away again.  When I say walk away, I don’t mean that I disowned God or stopped believing in him.  But, I was not living the life that he meant for me to live.  I did not have a close and personal relationship with him.  I was not doing as he commanded for me to do for him.

Over the past two years I have come home.  I ran to God as fast as I could run.  God was there waiting for me with open arms.  Just like he promised me he would.  He has held me close.  Closer than ever before in my life.  Do I still have tribulation?  Yes.  Do I still encounter persecution?  Oh yes!  Does it bother me?  Not so much anymore.  Why you may ask?  Well, God is with me!!!   He comforts me and gives me peace and joy in my times of troubles.  He is in the driver’s seat, he is in control of my life.  I love God now more than I ever have.  I am so very close to God right now, yet I want to be closer still.  I pray daily for God to keep me close to him and not let go, for my flesh is weak.

If only the Christians who have walked away from God would turn back to him.  If they would love and obey him.  Seek to be closer to him and be with him.  Walk with him daily.  Then more of their prayers would be answered.  Miracles in their lives would begin to manifest.  They would discover the gifts that God has given them as believers. 

God has been answering my prayers almost on a daily basis.  He has given me insight, vision and discernment along with other gifts.  My gifts are continuing to develop each and everyday.  I thank God for all that he has given me and will continue to give me.  I have recently been praying ( and prayers from a friend ) for the Holy Spirit to speak through me in tongues.  He answered my prayers a couple of weeks ago.  I awoke in the middle of the night speaking in tongues!  What a miracle.  Such a gift to treasure.  I love speaking in tongues.  I speak in tongues daily.  What a blessing!!!  I feel so much closer to God when I speak in tongues.  And a great benefit of speaking in tongues is that Satan and his demons do not know what I am saying.   Praise God!

Now is the time to return to God.  To seek the Spirit.  To strengthen our faith.  Time is of the essence.  We need to be doing God’s work.  We need to be praying for God to pour out his Spirit upon the world for revival.  For eyes to be opened and hearts to be softened.  For Souls to be saved.  Now is the time!

Praise God the Father, Jesus the Son and the Holy Spirit!  Amen

.

top of page ^